Coze Studio vs Sim

Short answer

Coze Studio: Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.

Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Coze Studio vs Sim side by side

Coze StudioSim
CategoryAI app & agent buildersAI app & agent builders
What it isOpen-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform.Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API.
LicenseApache-2.0Apache-2.0
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars21.7k29.9k
Last commitJul 29, 2026Oct 22, 2026
Latest releasev0.5.1v0.9.31
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk
Recommended hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mofrom €69.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose (setup wizard or manual)
Known gotchas2 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedFree (OIDC free · SAML free)
Audit logNot documentedYes, free
RBACNot documentedYes, free
DetailsFull Coze Studio guide →Full Sim guide →

Key differences

  • Official hardware: Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
  • Est. server cost: Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. Sim: from €69.99/mo.
  • Deploy: Coze Studio: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: Coze Studio: 21.7k. Sim: 29.9k.
  • Last commit: Coze Studio: Jul 29, 2026. Sim: Oct 22, 2026.
  • Latest release: Coze Studio: v0.5.1 (Feb 5, 2026). Sim: v0.9.31 (Oct 22, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; License: Apache-2.0 (Permissive); GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

Coze Studio vs Sim: FAQ

Coze Studio or Sim: which should a small business choose?

Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM).

Which is cheaper to self-host, Coze Studio or Sim?

Coze Studio: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).

How much hardware do Coze Studio and Sim need?

Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).

What is the license difference between Coze Studio and Sim?

Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Coze Studio or Sim more actively maintained?

Coze Studio: Active, last commit Jul 29, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Coze Studio or Sim?

Coze Studio installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). Coze Studio lists 2 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.