DeerFlow vs GPT Researcher

Short answer

DeerFlow: ByteDance's open-source super-agent harness for deep research, reports and multi-step tasks with sandboxes. GPT Researcher: Open-source deep research agent that browses the web and local documents and writes cited reports. Both are in our AI search & research assistants category.

Choose DeerFlow if you want: larger community (84.5k vs 30.3k GitHub stars).

Choose GPT Researcher if you want: cheaper to host (from €11.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 16 GB RAM).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

DeerFlow vs GPT Researcher side by side

DeerFlowGPT Researcher
CategoryAI search & research assistantsAI search & research assistants
What it isByteDance's open-source super-agent harness for deep research, reports and multi-step tasks with sandboxes.Open-source deep research agent that browses the web and local documents and writes cited reports.
LicenseMITApache-2.0
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars84.5k30.3k
Last commitOct 28, 2026Oct 10, 2026
Latest releasev2.1.0v3.7.0
Minimum hardware8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 40 GB disk1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 50 GB disk
Recommended hardware16 vCPU · 32 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €69.99/mo (recommended spec: €130.49/mo)from €11.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker Compose (via make)Docker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed3 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedYes, by default
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedNot documented
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACYes, freeNot documented
DetailsFull DeerFlow guide →Full GPT Researcher guide →

Key differences

  • License: DeerFlow: MIT (Permissive). GPT Researcher: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: DeerFlow: minimum 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 40 GB disk (recommended 16 vCPU · 32 GB RAM). GPT Researcher: minimum 1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 50 GB disk.
  • Est. server cost: DeerFlow: from €69.99/mo. GPT Researcher: from €11.99/mo.
  • Deploy: DeerFlow: Docker Compose (via make) · multi-container stack. GPT Researcher: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: DeerFlow: 84.5k. GPT Researcher: 30.3k.
  • Last commit: DeerFlow: Oct 28, 2026. GPT Researcher: Oct 10, 2026.
  • Latest release: DeerFlow: v2.1.0 (Sep 24, 2026). GPT Researcher: v3.7.0 (Sep 26, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI search & research assistants; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

DeerFlow vs GPT Researcher: FAQ

DeerFlow or GPT Researcher: which should a small business choose?

Choose DeerFlow if you want: larger community (84.5k vs 30.3k GitHub stars). Choose GPT Researcher if you want: cheaper to host (from €11.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 16 GB RAM).

Which is cheaper to self-host, DeerFlow or GPT Researcher?

GPT Researcher: cheaper to host (from €11.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).

How much hardware do DeerFlow and GPT Researcher need?

DeerFlow: minimum 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 40 GB disk (recommended 16 vCPU · 32 GB RAM). GPT Researcher: minimum 1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 50 GB disk.

What is the license difference between DeerFlow and GPT Researcher?

DeerFlow: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. GPT Researcher: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is DeerFlow or GPT Researcher more actively maintained?

DeerFlow: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. GPT Researcher: Active, last commit Oct 10, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 28, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, DeerFlow or GPT Researcher?

DeerFlow installs via Docker Compose (via make) (multi-container stack); GPT Researcher via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). DeerFlow lists 4 known gotchas and GPT Researcher lists 3; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.