Chat2DB vs OpenHands
Short answer
Chat2DB: AI-assisted SQL client for 40+ databases, as a desktop app or a single-user Docker web app, with your own model. OpenHands: Self-hosted control center for AI coding agents that write code, review PRs and run automations. Both are in our Coding assistants category.
Choose Chat2DB if you want: no server to rent (desktop app).
Choose OpenHands if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional) and larger community (92.4k vs 28.3k GitHub stars).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Chat2DB vs OpenHands side by side
| Chat2DB | OpenHands | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Coding assistants | Coding assistants |
| What it is | AI-assisted SQL client for 40+ databases, as a desktop app or a single-user Docker web app, with your own model. | Self-hosted control center for AI coding agents that write code, review PRs and run automations. |
| License | Chat2DB License (modified Apache-2.0, versions 5.3.0 and later) | MIT |
| License type | Custom / conditional | Permissive |
| License conditions | Internal use by your own staff is allowed, including the desktop app, web UI, Docker image, API and CLI. Without written authorization from Chat2DB you may not offer it as a product or service to outside parties, deploy or operate it for a client, embed it in a product, or white-label it, paid or free. Releases before 5.3.0 remain under plain Apache-2.0. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. LLM usage is billed by your model provider. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 28.3k | 92.4k |
| Last commit | Oct 27, 2026 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Latest release | v5.3.8 | v1.34.0 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. The AI assistant calls the model provider you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | No server (desktop app) | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Desktop app, or Docker (single-user) | Docker (or npm package) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not applicable | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | No | Not documented |
| Details | Full Chat2DB guide → | Full OpenHands guide → |
Key differences
- License: Chat2DB: Chat2DB License (modified Apache-2.0, versions 5.3.0 and later) (Custom / conditional). OpenHands: MIT (Permissive).
- Official hardware: Chat2DB: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. OpenHands: recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
- GPU: Chat2DB: optional / see notes. OpenHands: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: Chat2DB: no server (desktop app). OpenHands: from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: Chat2DB: Desktop app, or Docker (single-user) · desktop installer on each computer. OpenHands: Docker (or npm package) · single container.
- GitHub stars: Chat2DB: 28.3k. OpenHands: 92.4k.
- Last commit: Chat2DB: Oct 27, 2026. OpenHands: Oct 31, 2026.
- Latest release: Chat2DB: v5.3.8 (Oct 9, 2026). OpenHands: v1.34.0 (Oct 27, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Coding assistants; Status: Active.
Chat2DB vs OpenHands: FAQ
Chat2DB or OpenHands: which should a small business choose?
Choose Chat2DB if you want: no server to rent (desktop app). Choose OpenHands if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional) and larger community (92.4k vs 28.3k GitHub stars).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Chat2DB or OpenHands?
Chat2DB: no server to rent (desktop app).
How much hardware do Chat2DB and OpenHands need?
Chat2DB: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. OpenHands: recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
What is the license difference between Chat2DB and OpenHands?
Chat2DB: Chat2DB License (modified Apache-2.0, versions 5.3.0 and later) (Custom / conditional). Internal use by your own staff is allowed, including the desktop app, web UI, Docker image, API and CLI. Without written authorization from Chat2DB you may not offer it as a product or service to outside parties, deploy or operate it for a client, embed it in a product, or white-label it, paid or free. Releases before 5.3.0 remain under plain Apache-2.0. OpenHands: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. LLM usage is billed by your model provider. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Chat2DB or OpenHands more actively maintained?
Chat2DB: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. OpenHands: Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 1, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Chat2DB or OpenHands?
Chat2DB installs via Desktop app, or Docker (single-user) (desktop installer on each computer); OpenHands via Docker (or npm package) (single container). Chat2DB lists 4 known gotchas and OpenHands lists 4; see each app page.
Related
Sources
- Chat2DB GitHub repository: github.com/OtterMind/Chat2DB
- Chat2DB documentation, Chat2DB hardware requirements, Chat2DB deploy instructions: github.com/OtterMind/Chat2DB#readme
- Chat2DB license: github.com/OtterMind/Chat2DB/blob/main/LICENSE
- OpenHands GitHub repository: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands
- OpenHands documentation, OpenHands hardware requirements: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands/blob/main/docs/SELF_HOSTING.md
- OpenHands license: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands/blob/main/LICENSE
- OpenHands deploy instructions: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands#option-2-with-a-docker-sandbox
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.