OpenHands vs Tabby
Short answer
OpenHands: Self-hosted control center for AI coding agents that write code, review PRs and run automations. Tabby: Self-hosted AI coding assistant (Copilot alternative) for your team. Both are in our Coding assistants category.
Choose OpenHands if you want: no GPU server needed, fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core) and larger community (91.5k vs 33.9k GitHub stars).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
OpenHands vs Tabby side by side
| OpenHands | Tabby | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Coding assistants | Coding assistants |
| What it is | Self-hosted control center for AI coding agents that write code, review PRs and run automations. | Self-hosted AI coding assistant (Copilot alternative) for your team. |
| License | MIT | Apache-2.0 (ee directory under a separate license) |
| License type | Permissive | Open core |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. LLM usage is billed by your model provider. | Everything outside the "ee/" directory is Apache-2.0. The ee/ directory has its own license. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 91.5k | 33.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 22, 2026 | Jun 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.30.1 | v0.32.0 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | NVIDIA GPU recommended. CodeLlama-7B in int8 needs about 8 GB VRAM. int8 needs compute capability 7.0+ (or 6.1), float16 7.0+, bfloat16 8.0+. |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | GPU server (not estimated) |
| Deploy method | Docker (or npm package) | Docker (CUDA) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only (LDAP paid) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full OpenHands guide → | Full Tabby guide → |
Key differences
- License: OpenHands: MIT (Permissive). Tabby: Apache-2.0 (ee directory under a separate license) (Open core).
- Official hardware: OpenHands: recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Tabby: not published.
- GPU: OpenHands: not required or not stated. Tabby: needed for practical use.
- Est. server cost: OpenHands: from €19.99/mo. Tabby: GPU server (not estimated).
- Deploy: OpenHands: Docker (or npm package) · single container. Tabby: Docker (CUDA) · single container.
- GitHub stars: OpenHands: 91.5k. Tabby: 33.9k.
- Last commit: OpenHands: Oct 22, 2026. Tabby: Jun 30, 2026.
- Latest release: OpenHands: v1.30.1 (Oct 22, 2026). Tabby: v0.32.0 (Jan 25, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Coding assistants; Status: Active.
OpenHands vs Tabby: FAQ
OpenHands or Tabby: which should a small business choose?
Choose OpenHands if you want: no GPU server needed, fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core) and larger community (91.5k vs 33.9k GitHub stars).
Which is cheaper to self-host, OpenHands or Tabby?
OpenHands: from €19.99/mo. Tabby: GPU server (not estimated). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do OpenHands and Tabby need?
OpenHands: recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Tabby: not published. Tabby needs a GPU for practical use.
What is the license difference between OpenHands and Tabby?
OpenHands: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. LLM usage is billed by your model provider. Tabby: Apache-2.0 (ee directory under a separate license) (Open core). Everything outside the "ee/" directory is Apache-2.0. The ee/ directory has its own license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is OpenHands or Tabby more actively maintained?
OpenHands: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. Tabby: Active, last commit Jun 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, OpenHands or Tabby?
OpenHands installs via Docker (or npm package) (single container); Tabby via Docker (CUDA) (single container). OpenHands lists 4 known gotchas and Tabby lists 2; see each app page.
Related
Sources
- OpenHands GitHub repository: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands
- OpenHands documentation, OpenHands hardware requirements: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands/blob/main/docs/SELF_HOSTING.md
- OpenHands license: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands/blob/main/LICENSE
- OpenHands deploy instructions: github.com/OpenHands/OpenHands#option-2-with-a-docker-sandbox
- Tabby GitHub repository: github.com/TabbyML/tabby
- Tabby documentation, Tabby deploy instructions: tabby.tabbyml.com/docs/quick-start/installation/docker/
- Tabby license: github.com/TabbyML/tabby/blob/main/LICENSE
- Tabby hardware requirements: tabby.tabbyml.com/docs/faq/
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.