Coze Studio vs Dify
Short answer
Coze Studio: Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose Coze Studio if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (159k vs 21.7k GitHub stars).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Coze Studio vs Dify side by side
| Coze Studio | Dify | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. | Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 21.7k | 159k |
| Last commit | Jul 29, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.5.1 | 1.17.1 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 2 listed |
| Details | Full Coze Studio guide → | Full Dify guide → |
Key differences
- License: Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional).
- GitHub stars: Coze Studio: 21.7k. Dify: 159k.
- Last commit: Coze Studio: Jul 29, 2026. Dify: Oct 22, 2026.
- Latest release: Coze Studio: v0.5.1 (Feb 5, 2026). Dify: 1.17.1 (Sep 10, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Official hardware: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €19.99/mo; Deploy: Docker Compose · multi-container stack; Status: Active.
Coze Studio vs Dify: FAQ
Coze Studio or Dify: which should a small business choose?
Choose Coze Studio if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose Dify if you want: larger community (159k vs 21.7k GitHub stars).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Coze Studio or Dify?
Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. Dify: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Coze Studio and Dify need?
Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
What is the license difference between Coze Studio and Dify?
Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Coze Studio or Dify more actively maintained?
Coze Studio: Active, last commit Jul 29, 2026. Dify: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Coze Studio or Dify?
Coze Studio installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Dify via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Coze Studio lists 2 known gotchas and Dify lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Coze Studio self-hosting guide · Dify self-hosting guide
- All Coze Studio alternatives, ranked
- All Dify alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs Flowise
- Coze Studio vs Langflow
- Coze Studio vs MaxKB
- Coze Studio vs RAGFlow
- Coze Studio vs Sim
- Dify vs FastGPT
- Dify vs Flowise
- Dify vs Langflow
- Dify vs MaxKB
- Dify vs n8n
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Coze Studio GitHub repository: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio
- Coze Studio documentation: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/wiki/2.-Quickstart
- Coze Studio license: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/blob/main/LICENSE-APACHE
- Coze Studio hardware requirements, Coze Studio deploy instructions: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio#readme
- Dify GitHub repository: github.com/langgenius/dify
- Dify documentation, Dify hardware requirements: docs.dify.ai/en/self-host/deploy/quick-start/docker-compose
- Dify license: github.com/langgenius/dify/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify deploy instructions: github.com/langgenius/dify#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.