AstrBot vs Dify
Short answer
AstrBot: Multi-platform AI chatbot and agent framework for QQ, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Official Accounts, Telegram and Slack. Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose AstrBot if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose Dify if you want: fewer license conditions (Custom / conditional vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (160k vs 44.9k GitHub stars).
AstrBot publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
AstrBot vs Dify side by side
| AstrBot | Dify | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Multi-platform AI chatbot and agent framework for QQ, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Official Accounts, Telegram and Slack. | Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 | Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify AstrBot and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. | Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 44.9k | 160k |
| Last commit | Oct 28, 2026 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | v4.29.3 | 1.18.0 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. It calls the model providers you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Yes, by default |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full AstrBot guide → | Full Dify guide → |
Key differences
- License: AstrBot: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: AstrBot: not published. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
- GPU: AstrBot: optional / see notes. Dify: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: AstrBot: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Dify: from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: AstrBot: Docker · single container. Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: AstrBot: 44.9k. Dify: 160k.
- Last commit: AstrBot: Oct 28, 2026. Dify: Oct 30, 2026.
- Latest release: AstrBot: v4.29.3 (Oct 24, 2026). Dify: 1.18.0 (Oct 23, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active.
AstrBot vs Dify: FAQ
AstrBot or Dify: which should a small business choose?
Choose AstrBot if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Dify if you want: fewer license conditions (Custom / conditional vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (160k vs 44.9k GitHub stars). AstrBot publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, AstrBot or Dify?
AstrBot: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Dify: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do AstrBot and Dify need?
AstrBot: not published. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
What is the license difference between AstrBot and Dify?
AstrBot: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify AstrBot and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is AstrBot or Dify more actively maintained?
AstrBot: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. Dify: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 30, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, AstrBot or Dify?
AstrBot installs via Docker (single container); Dify via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AstrBot lists 4 known gotchas and Dify lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- AstrBot self-hosting guide · Dify self-hosting guide
- All AstrBot alternatives, ranked
- All Dify alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Dify
- AstrBot vs AutoGPT Platform
- AstrBot vs CowAgent
- AstrBot vs Coze Studio
- AstrBot vs Flowise
- AstrBot vs Langflow
- AstrBot vs Mem0
- AstrBot vs Sim
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- CowAgent vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Dify vs FastGPT
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- AstrBot GitHub repository: github.com/AstrBotDevs/AstrBot
- AstrBot documentation, AstrBot hardware requirements, AstrBot deploy instructions: docs.astrbot.app/en/deploy/astrbot/docker.html
- AstrBot license: github.com/AstrBotDevs/AstrBot/blob/master/LICENSE
- Dify GitHub repository: github.com/langgenius/dify
- Dify documentation, Dify hardware requirements: docs.dify.ai/en/self-host/deploy/quick-start/docker-compose
- Dify license: github.com/langgenius/dify/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify deploy instructions: github.com/langgenius/dify#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.