Coze Studio vs MaxKB

Short answer

Coze Studio: Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. They sit in different categories (AI app & agent builders and Knowledge base & RAG) but overlap: All of them combine a document knowledge base (RAG) with a visual builder for Q&A, agent or workflow apps.

Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)).

Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Coze Studio vs MaxKB side by side

Coze StudioMaxKB
CategoryAI app & agent buildersKnowledge base & RAG
What it isOpen-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform.Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows.
LicenseApache-2.0GPL-3.0
License typePermissiveCopyleft (GPL)
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars21.7k23.0k
Last commitJul 29, 2026Oct 21, 2026
Latest releasev0.5.1v2.10.8-lts
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk
Recommended hardwareNot publishedNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mofrom €35.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker
Known gotchas2 listed2 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedPaid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid)
Audit logNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
RBACNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
DetailsFull Coze Studio guide →Full MaxKB guide →

Key differences

  • Category: Coze Studio: AI app & agent builders. MaxKB: Knowledge base & RAG.
  • License: Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)).
  • Official hardware: Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
  • Est. server cost: Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. MaxKB: from €35.99/mo.
  • Deploy: Coze Studio: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. MaxKB: Docker · single container.
  • GitHub stars: Coze Studio: 21.7k. MaxKB: 23.0k.
  • Last commit: Coze Studio: Jul 29, 2026. MaxKB: Oct 21, 2026.
  • Latest release: Coze Studio: v0.5.1 (Feb 5, 2026). MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026).

Same for both: GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

Coze Studio vs MaxKB: FAQ

Coze Studio or MaxKB: which should a small business choose?

Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)). Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Which is cheaper to self-host, Coze Studio or MaxKB?

Coze Studio: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).

How much hardware do Coze Studio and MaxKB need?

Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.

What is the license difference between Coze Studio and MaxKB?

Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Coze Studio or MaxKB more actively maintained?

Coze Studio: Active, last commit Jul 29, 2026. MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 21, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Coze Studio or MaxKB?

Coze Studio installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); MaxKB via Docker (single container). Coze Studio lists 2 known gotchas and MaxKB lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.