AFFiNE vs MaxKB

Short answer

AFFiNE: Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose AFFiNE if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Copyleft (GPL)) and larger community (74.0k vs 23.1k GitHub stars).

Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AFFiNE vs MaxKB side by side

AFFiNEMaxKB
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isNotion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker.Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows.
LicenseMIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server codeGPL-3.0
License typeOpen coreCopyleft (GPL)
License conditionsThe README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License.Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars74.0k23.1k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 28, 2026
Latest releasev0.27.4v2.10.8-lts
Minimum hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 2 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €35.99/mofrom €35.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker Compose (official images)Docker
Known gotchas4 listed2 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free with limits (OIDC free)Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid)
Audit logNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
RBACNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
DetailsFull AFFiNE guide →Full MaxKB guide →

Key differences

  • License: AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)).
  • Official hardware: AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
  • Deploy: AFFiNE: Docker Compose (official images) · multi-container stack. MaxKB: Docker · single container.
  • GitHub stars: AFFiNE: 74.0k. MaxKB: 23.1k.
  • Last commit: AFFiNE: Oct 27, 2026. MaxKB: Oct 28, 2026.
  • Latest release: AFFiNE: v0.27.4 (Aug 18, 2026). MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €35.99/mo; Status: Active.

AFFiNE vs MaxKB: FAQ

AFFiNE or MaxKB: which should a small business choose?

Choose AFFiNE if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Copyleft (GPL)) and larger community (74.0k vs 23.1k GitHub stars). Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Which is cheaper to self-host, AFFiNE or MaxKB?

AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. MaxKB: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do AFFiNE and MaxKB need?

AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.

What is the license difference between AFFiNE and MaxKB?

AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AFFiNE or MaxKB more actively maintained?

AFFiNE: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 29, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AFFiNE or MaxKB?

AFFiNE installs via Docker Compose (official images) (multi-container stack); MaxKB via Docker (single container). AFFiNE lists 4 known gotchas and MaxKB lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.