AutoGPT Platform vs Flowise
Short answer
AutoGPT Platform: Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. Flowise: Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026). Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, AutoGPT Platform is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it.
Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived), larger community (188k vs 55.5k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose Flowise if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Source-available).
Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
AutoGPT Platform vs Flowise side by side
| AutoGPT Platform | Flowise | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. | Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026). |
| License | Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest | Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) |
| License type | Source-available | Open core |
| License conditions | The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. | Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license. |
| Status | Active | Archived |
| GitHub stars | 188k | 55.5k |
| Last commit | Oct 27, 2026 | Aug 13, 2026 |
| Latest release | autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 | [email protected] |
| Minimum hardware | 6 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €35.99/mo | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker (single container) | npm or Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full AutoGPT Platform guide → | Full Flowise guide → |
Key differences
- License: AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core).
- Official hardware: AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. Flowise: not published.
- Est. server cost: AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: AutoGPT Platform: Docker (single container) · single container. Flowise: npm or Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- Status: AutoGPT Platform: Active. Flowise: Archived.
- GitHub stars: AutoGPT Platform: 188k. Flowise: 55.5k.
- Last commit: AutoGPT Platform: Oct 27, 2026. Flowise: Aug 13, 2026.
- Latest release: AutoGPT Platform: autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 (Oct 27, 2026). Flowise: [email protected] (Jul 29, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; GPU: not required or not stated.
AutoGPT Platform vs Flowise: FAQ
AutoGPT Platform or Flowise: which should a small business choose?
Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, AutoGPT Platform is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it. Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived), larger community (188k vs 55.5k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Flowise if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Source-available). Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, AutoGPT Platform or Flowise?
AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do AutoGPT Platform and Flowise need?
AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. Flowise: not published.
What is the license difference between AutoGPT Platform and Flowise?
AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core). Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is AutoGPT Platform or Flowise more actively maintained?
AutoGPT Platform: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. Flowise: Archived, last commit Aug 13, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 28, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, AutoGPT Platform or Flowise?
AutoGPT Platform installs via Docker (single container) (single container); Flowise via npm or Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AutoGPT Platform lists 4 known gotchas and Flowise lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- AutoGPT Platform self-hosting guide · Flowise self-hosting guide
- All AutoGPT Platform alternatives, ranked
- All Flowise alternatives, ranked
- AutoGPT Platform vs Coze Studio
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs Langflow
- AutoGPT Platform vs Sim
- Coze Studio vs Flowise
- Dify vs Flowise
- Flowise vs Langflow
- Flowise vs Sim
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- AutoGPT Platform GitHub repository: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT
- AutoGPT Platform documentation, AutoGPT Platform hardware requirements: agpt.co/docs/platform/self-hosting/single-container
- AutoGPT Platform license: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT/blob/master/LICENSE
- AutoGPT Platform deploy instructions: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT#self-host-autogpt
- Flowise GitHub repository: github.com/FlowiseAI/Flowise
- Flowise documentation, Flowise hardware requirements, Flowise deploy instructions: github.com/FlowiseAI/Flowise#readme
- Flowise license: github.com/FlowiseAI/Flowise/blob/main/LICENSE.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.