AutoGPT Platform vs Dify

Short answer

AutoGPT Platform: Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.

Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Choose Dify if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 6 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Custom / conditional vs Source-available).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AutoGPT Platform vs Dify side by side

AutoGPT PlatformDify
CategoryAI app & agent buildersAI app & agent builders
What it isVisual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container.Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows.
LicensePolyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the restDify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0)
License typeSource-availableCustom / conditional
License conditionsThe platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT.Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars188k160k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 28, 2026
Latest releaseautogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.01.18.0
Minimum hardware6 GB RAM2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM
Recommended hardwareNot publishedNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €35.99/mofrom €19.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker (single container)Docker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed2 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedYes, by default
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedPaid / enterprise only
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedBasic free, more in paid plan
DetailsFull AutoGPT Platform guide →Full Dify guide →

Key differences

  • License: AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional).
  • Official hardware: AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
  • Est. server cost: AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. Dify: from €19.99/mo.
  • Deploy: AutoGPT Platform: Docker (single container) · single container. Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AutoGPT Platform: 188k. Dify: 160k.
  • Last commit: AutoGPT Platform: Oct 27, 2026. Dify: Oct 28, 2026.
  • Latest release: AutoGPT Platform: autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 (Oct 27, 2026). Dify: 1.18.0 (Oct 23, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

AutoGPT Platform vs Dify: FAQ

AutoGPT Platform or Dify: which should a small business choose?

Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Dify if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 6 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Custom / conditional vs Source-available).

Which is cheaper to self-host, AutoGPT Platform or Dify?

Dify: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).

How much hardware do AutoGPT Platform and Dify need?

AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.

What is the license difference between AutoGPT Platform and Dify?

AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AutoGPT Platform or Dify more actively maintained?

AutoGPT Platform: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. Dify: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 28, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AutoGPT Platform or Dify?

AutoGPT Platform installs via Docker (single container) (single container); Dify via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AutoGPT Platform lists 4 known gotchas and Dify lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.