AutoGPT Platform vs Sim

Short answer

AutoGPT Platform: Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.

Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo), lighter official minimum (6 GB vs 12 GB RAM), larger community (188k vs 29.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Choose Sim if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AutoGPT Platform vs Sim side by side

AutoGPT PlatformSim
CategoryAI app & agent buildersAI app & agent builders
What it isVisual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container.Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API.
LicensePolyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the restApache-2.0
License typeSource-availablePermissive
License conditionsThe platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars188k29.9k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 28, 2026
Latest releaseautogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0v0.9.34
Minimum hardware6 GB RAM2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk
Recommended hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €35.99/mofrom €69.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker (single container)Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual)
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedFree (OIDC free · SAML free)
Audit logNot documentedYes, free
RBACNot documentedYes, free
DetailsFull AutoGPT Platform guide →Full Sim guide →

Key differences

  • License: AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
  • Est. server cost: AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. Sim: from €69.99/mo.
  • Deploy: AutoGPT Platform: Docker (single container) · single container. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AutoGPT Platform: 188k. Sim: 29.9k.
  • Last commit: AutoGPT Platform: Oct 27, 2026. Sim: Oct 28, 2026.
  • Latest release: AutoGPT Platform: autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 (Oct 27, 2026). Sim: v0.9.34 (Oct 27, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

AutoGPT Platform vs Sim: FAQ

AutoGPT Platform or Sim: which should a small business choose?

Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo), lighter official minimum (6 GB vs 12 GB RAM), larger community (188k vs 29.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Sim if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available).

Which is cheaper to self-host, AutoGPT Platform or Sim?

AutoGPT Platform: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).

How much hardware do AutoGPT Platform and Sim need?

AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).

What is the license difference between AutoGPT Platform and Sim?

AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AutoGPT Platform or Sim more actively maintained?

AutoGPT Platform: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 28, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AutoGPT Platform or Sim?

AutoGPT Platform installs via Docker (single container) (single container); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). AutoGPT Platform lists 4 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.