bolt.diy vs OpenHands

Short answer

bolt.diy: Open-source prompt-to-web-app builder that writes, runs and previews full-stack apps in the browser. OpenHands: Self-hosted control center for AI coding agents that write code, review PRs and run automations. Both are in our Coding assistants category.

Choose OpenHands if you want: larger community (92.5k vs 20.0k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

bolt.diy publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

bolt.diy vs OpenHands side by side

bolt.diyOpenHands
CategoryCoding assistantsCoding assistants
What it isOpen-source prompt-to-web-app builder that writes, runs and previews full-stack apps in the browser.Self-hosted control center for AI coding agents that write code, review PRs and run automations.
LicenseMIT (uses the WebContainers API, which has separate commercial terms)MIT
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsbolt.diy itself is MIT: internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the license notice. It uses the StackBlitz WebContainers API, which has specific commercial licensing terms for enterprise deployment.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. LLM usage is billed by your model provider.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars20.0k92.5k
Last commitOct 14, 2026Nov 3, 2026
Latest releasev1.0.1v1.34.0
Minimum hardwareNot publishedNot published
Recommended hardwareNot published2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNo. It calls the model providers you configure; no GPU requirement is documented.Not required / not stated
Est. server costNot estimatedfrom €19.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker Compose (image built from source)Docker (or npm package)
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedNot documented
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull bolt.diy guide →Full OpenHands guide →

Key differences

  • License: bolt.diy: MIT (uses the WebContainers API, which has separate commercial terms) (Permissive). OpenHands: MIT (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: bolt.diy: not published. OpenHands: recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
  • GPU: bolt.diy: optional / see notes. OpenHands: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: bolt.diy: not estimated (no official RAM figure). OpenHands: from €19.99/mo.
  • Deploy: bolt.diy: Docker Compose (image built from source) · multi-container stack. OpenHands: Docker (or npm package) · single container.
  • GitHub stars: bolt.diy: 20.0k. OpenHands: 92.5k.
  • Last commit: bolt.diy: Oct 14, 2026. OpenHands: Nov 3, 2026.
  • Latest release: bolt.diy: v1.0.1 (Oct 12, 2026). OpenHands: v1.34.0 (Oct 27, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Coding assistants; Status: Active.

bolt.diy vs OpenHands: FAQ

bolt.diy or OpenHands: which should a small business choose?

Choose OpenHands if you want: larger community (92.5k vs 20.0k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). bolt.diy publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, bolt.diy or OpenHands?

bolt.diy: not estimated (no official RAM figure). OpenHands: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do bolt.diy and OpenHands need?

bolt.diy: not published. OpenHands: recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).

What is the license difference between bolt.diy and OpenHands?

bolt.diy: MIT (uses the WebContainers API, which has separate commercial terms) (Permissive). bolt.diy itself is MIT: internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the license notice. It uses the StackBlitz WebContainers API, which has specific commercial licensing terms for enterprise deployment. OpenHands: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. LLM usage is billed by your model provider. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is bolt.diy or OpenHands more actively maintained?

bolt.diy: Active, last commit Oct 14, 2026. OpenHands: Active, last commit Nov 3, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, bolt.diy or OpenHands?

bolt.diy installs via Docker Compose (image built from source) (multi-container stack); OpenHands via Docker (or npm package) (single container). bolt.diy lists 4 known gotchas and OpenHands lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.