Cherry Studio vs Open WebUI
Short answer
Cherry Studio: Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. Open WebUI: Feature-rich self-hosted chat UI for Ollama and OpenAI-compatible APIs. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app).
Choose Open WebUI if you want: fewer license conditions (Custom / conditional vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (157k vs 53.0k GitHub stars).
Open WebUI publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Cherry Studio vs Open WebUI side by side
| Cherry Studio | Open WebUI | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. | Feature-rich self-hosted chat UI for Ollama and OpenAI-compatible APIs. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) | Open WebUI License (BSD-3-Clause style with branding clause) |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. | BSD-style terms plus a branding condition. You may not alter or remove the "Open WebUI" branding unless your deployment has no more than 50 end users in any rolling 30 days, you have written permission, or you hold an enterprise license. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 53.0k | 157k |
| Last commit | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 25, 2026 |
| Latest release | v2.1.7 | v0.12.4 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | 896 MiB idle, 909 MiB working (our test, v0.12.3, Oct 22, 2026) |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | No server (desktop app) | from €11.99/mo (based on our test, not official) |
| Deploy method | Desktop installer | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Off by default (opt-in) |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Yes, by default |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free (OIDC free · LDAP free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Yes, free |
| Details | Full Cherry Studio guide → | Full Open WebUI guide → |
Key differences
- License: Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Open WebUI: Open WebUI License (BSD-3-Clause style with branding clause) (Custom / conditional).
- Est. server cost: Cherry Studio: no server (desktop app). Open WebUI: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: Cherry Studio: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer. Open WebUI: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: Cherry Studio: 53.0k. Open WebUI: 157k.
- Last commit: Cherry Studio: Oct 26, 2026. Open WebUI: Oct 25, 2026.
- Latest release: Cherry Studio: v2.1.7 (Oct 19, 2026). Open WebUI: v0.12.4 (Oct 25, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Official hardware: not published; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Cherry Studio vs Open WebUI: FAQ
Cherry Studio or Open WebUI: which should a small business choose?
Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app). Choose Open WebUI if you want: fewer license conditions (Custom / conditional vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (157k vs 53.0k GitHub stars). Open WebUI publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Cherry Studio or Open WebUI?
Cherry Studio: no server to rent (desktop app).
How much hardware do Cherry Studio and Open WebUI need?
Cherry Studio: not published. Open WebUI: not published.
What is the license difference between Cherry Studio and Open WebUI?
Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. Open WebUI: Open WebUI License (BSD-3-Clause style with branding clause) (Custom / conditional). BSD-style terms plus a branding condition. You may not alter or remove the "Open WebUI" branding unless your deployment has no more than 50 end users in any rolling 30 days, you have written permission, or you hold an enterprise license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Cherry Studio or Open WebUI more actively maintained?
Cherry Studio: Active, last commit Oct 26, 2026. Open WebUI: Active, last commit Oct 25, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 26, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Cherry Studio or Open WebUI?
Cherry Studio installs via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer); Open WebUI via Docker (single container). Cherry Studio lists 3 known gotchas and Open WebUI lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Cherry Studio self-hosting guide · Open WebUI self-hosting guide
- All Cherry Studio alternatives, ranked
- All Open WebUI alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs Open WebUI
- Cherry Studio vs Jan
- Cherry Studio vs LibreChat
- Cherry Studio vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Cherry Studio vs NextChat
- Jan vs Open WebUI
- LibreChat vs Open WebUI
- LobeHub (LobeChat) vs Open WebUI
- NextChat vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Cherry Studio GitHub repository: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio
- Cherry Studio documentation, Cherry Studio hardware requirements, Cherry Studio deploy instructions: cherryai.com/docs/en/cherry-studio/installation/
- Cherry Studio license: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio/blob/main/LICENSE
- Open WebUI GitHub repository: github.com/open-webui/open-webui
- Open WebUI documentation, Open WebUI hardware requirements: docs.openwebui.com/getting-started/quick-start/
- Open WebUI license: github.com/open-webui/open-webui/blob/main/LICENSE
- Open WebUI deploy instructions: github.com/open-webui/open-webui#installation-with-default-configuration
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-26): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.