Cherry Studio vs NextChat
Short answer
Cherry Studio: Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. NextChat: Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app).
Choose NextChat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (88.9k vs 53.0k GitHub stars).
NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Cherry Studio vs NextChat side by side
| Cherry Studio | NextChat | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. | Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) | MIT |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Permissive |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 53.0k | 88.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Latest release | v2.1.7 | v2.16.1 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | 42 MiB idle, 57 MiB working (our test, v2.16.1, Oct 22, 2026) |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | No server (desktop app) | from €6.49/mo (based on our test, not official) |
| Deploy method | Desktop installer | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Details | Full Cherry Studio guide → | Full NextChat guide → |
Key differences
- License: Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). NextChat: MIT (Permissive).
- Est. server cost: Cherry Studio: no server (desktop app). NextChat: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: Cherry Studio: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer. NextChat: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: Cherry Studio: 53.0k. NextChat: 88.9k.
- Last commit: Cherry Studio: Oct 26, 2026. NextChat: Oct 20, 2026.
- Latest release: Cherry Studio: v2.1.7 (Oct 19, 2026). NextChat: v2.16.1 (Jul 29, 2025).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Official hardware: not published; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Cherry Studio vs NextChat: FAQ
Cherry Studio or NextChat: which should a small business choose?
Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app). Choose NextChat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (88.9k vs 53.0k GitHub stars). NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Cherry Studio or NextChat?
Cherry Studio: no server to rent (desktop app).
How much hardware do Cherry Studio and NextChat need?
Cherry Studio: not published. NextChat: not published.
What is the license difference between Cherry Studio and NextChat?
Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. NextChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Cherry Studio or NextChat more actively maintained?
Cherry Studio: Active, last commit Oct 26, 2026. NextChat: Active, last commit Oct 20, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 26, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Cherry Studio or NextChat?
Cherry Studio installs via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer); NextChat via Docker (single container). Cherry Studio lists 3 known gotchas and NextChat lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- Cherry Studio self-hosting guide · NextChat self-hosting guide
- All Cherry Studio alternatives, ranked
- All NextChat alternatives, ranked
- Cherry Studio vs Jan
- Cherry Studio vs LibreChat
- Cherry Studio vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Cherry Studio vs Open WebUI
- Jan vs NextChat
- LibreChat vs NextChat
- LobeHub (LobeChat) vs NextChat
- NextChat vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Cherry Studio GitHub repository: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio
- Cherry Studio documentation, Cherry Studio hardware requirements, Cherry Studio deploy instructions: cherryai.com/docs/en/cherry-studio/installation/
- Cherry Studio license: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio/blob/main/LICENSE
- NextChat GitHub repository: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat
- NextChat documentation: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#deployment
- NextChat license: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat/blob/main/LICENSE
- NextChat hardware requirements: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#requirements
- NextChat deploy instructions: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#docker-recommended
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-26): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.