Cherry Studio vs LibreChat
Short answer
Cherry Studio: Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. LibreChat: Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app).
Choose LibreChat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Network copyleft (AGPL)).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Cherry Studio vs LibreChat side by side
| Cherry Studio | LibreChat | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. | Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) | MIT |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Permissive |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 53.0k | 46.3k |
| Last commit | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Latest release | v2.1.7 | — |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 2 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | 750 MiB idle, 941 MiB working (our test, v0.8.8, Oct 22, 2026) |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | No server (desktop app) | from €6.49/mo (recommended spec: €11.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Desktop installer | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free (OIDC free · SAML free · LDAP free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Details | Full Cherry Studio guide → | Full LibreChat guide → |
Key differences
- License: Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). LibreChat: MIT (Permissive).
- Official hardware: Cherry Studio: not published. LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).
- Est. server cost: Cherry Studio: no server (desktop app). LibreChat: from €6.49/mo.
- Deploy: Cherry Studio: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer. LibreChat: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Cherry Studio: 53.0k. LibreChat: 46.3k.
- Last commit: Cherry Studio: Oct 26, 2026. LibreChat: Oct 24, 2026.
- Latest release: Cherry Studio: v2.1.7 (Oct 19, 2026). LibreChat: none published.
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Cherry Studio vs LibreChat: FAQ
Cherry Studio or LibreChat: which should a small business choose?
Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app). Choose LibreChat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Network copyleft (AGPL)).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Cherry Studio or LibreChat?
Cherry Studio: no server to rent (desktop app).
How much hardware do Cherry Studio and LibreChat need?
Cherry Studio: not published. LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between Cherry Studio and LibreChat?
Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. LibreChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Cherry Studio or LibreChat more actively maintained?
Cherry Studio: Active, last commit Oct 26, 2026. LibreChat: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 26, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Cherry Studio or LibreChat?
Cherry Studio installs via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer); LibreChat via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Cherry Studio lists 3 known gotchas and LibreChat lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Cherry Studio self-hosting guide · LibreChat self-hosting guide
- All Cherry Studio alternatives, ranked
- All LibreChat alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs LibreChat
- Cherry Studio vs Jan
- Cherry Studio vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Cherry Studio vs NextChat
- Cherry Studio vs Open WebUI
- Jan vs LibreChat
- LibreChat vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- LibreChat vs NextChat
- LibreChat vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Cherry Studio GitHub repository: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio
- Cherry Studio documentation, Cherry Studio hardware requirements, Cherry Studio deploy instructions: cherryai.com/docs/en/cherry-studio/installation/
- Cherry Studio license: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio/blob/main/LICENSE
- LibreChat GitHub repository: github.com/LibreChat-AI/LibreChat
- LibreChat documentation, LibreChat hardware requirements, LibreChat deploy instructions: www.librechat.ai/docs/local/docker
- LibreChat license: github.com/LibreChat-AI/LibreChat/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-26): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.