DocsGPT vs FastGPT
Short answer
DocsGPT: Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose DocsGPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Choose FastGPT if you want: larger community (29.9k vs 18.3k GitHub stars).
DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
DocsGPT vs FastGPT side by side
| DocsGPT | FastGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. |
| License | MIT | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 18.3k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 24, 2026 | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Latest release | 1.0.0 | v4.17.2 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose (install script) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Not documented |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full DocsGPT guide → | Full FastGPT guide → |
Key differences
- License: DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: DocsGPT: not published. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
- Est. server cost: DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). FastGPT: from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: DocsGPT: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: DocsGPT: 18.3k. FastGPT: 29.9k.
- Latest release: DocsGPT: 1.0.0 (Oct 8, 2026). FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 24, 2026.
DocsGPT vs FastGPT: FAQ
DocsGPT or FastGPT: which should a small business choose?
Choose DocsGPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose FastGPT if you want: larger community (29.9k vs 18.3k GitHub stars). DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, DocsGPT or FastGPT?
DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do DocsGPT and FastGPT need?
DocsGPT: not published. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between DocsGPT and FastGPT?
DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is DocsGPT or FastGPT more actively maintained?
DocsGPT: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 24, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, DocsGPT or FastGPT?
DocsGPT installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); FastGPT via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack). DocsGPT lists 4 known gotchas and FastGPT lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- DocsGPT self-hosting guide · FastGPT self-hosting guide
- All DocsGPT alternatives, ranked
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs DocsGPT
- AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Dify vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs kotaemon
- DocsGPT vs MaxKB
- DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- DocsGPT vs Open Notebook
- DocsGPT vs PrivateGPT
- DocsGPT vs RAGFlow
- FastGPT vs kotaemon
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- DocsGPT GitHub repository: github.com/arc53/DocsGPT
- DocsGPT documentation: docs.docsgpt.cloud/
- DocsGPT license: github.com/arc53/DocsGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- DocsGPT hardware requirements, DocsGPT deploy instructions: docs.docsgpt.cloud/Deploying/Docker-Deploying
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.