AFFiNE vs DocsGPT

Short answer

AFFiNE: Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. DocsGPT: Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose AFFiNE if you want: larger community (74.0k vs 18.3k GitHub stars).

Choose DocsGPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).

DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AFFiNE vs DocsGPT side by side

AFFiNEDocsGPT
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isNotion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker.Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources.
LicenseMIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server codeMIT
License typeOpen corePermissive
License conditionsThe README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars74.0k18.3k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 28, 2026
Latest releasev0.27.41.1.0
Minimum hardwareNot publishedNot published
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 2 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €35.99/moNot estimated
Deploy methodDocker Compose (official images)Docker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedYes, by default
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free with limits (OIDC free)Free (OIDC free)
Audit logNot documentedYes, free
RBACNot documentedYes, free
DetailsFull AFFiNE guide →Full DocsGPT guide →

Key differences

  • License: AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). DocsGPT: not published.
  • Est. server cost: AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: AFFiNE: Docker Compose (official images) · multi-container stack. DocsGPT: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AFFiNE: 74.0k. DocsGPT: 18.3k.
  • Last commit: AFFiNE: Oct 27, 2026. DocsGPT: Oct 28, 2026.
  • Latest release: AFFiNE: v0.27.4 (Aug 18, 2026). DocsGPT: 1.1.0 (Oct 25, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

AFFiNE vs DocsGPT: FAQ

AFFiNE or DocsGPT: which should a small business choose?

Choose AFFiNE if you want: larger community (74.0k vs 18.3k GitHub stars). Choose DocsGPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core). DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, AFFiNE or DocsGPT?

AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do AFFiNE and DocsGPT need?

AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). DocsGPT: not published.

What is the license difference between AFFiNE and DocsGPT?

AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AFFiNE or DocsGPT more actively maintained?

AFFiNE: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. DocsGPT: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 29, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AFFiNE or DocsGPT?

AFFiNE installs via Docker Compose (official images) (multi-container stack); DocsGPT via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AFFiNE lists 4 known gotchas and DocsGPT lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.