Dify vs FastGPT
Short answer
Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. They sit in different categories (AI app & agent builders and Knowledge base & RAG) but overlap: All of them combine a document knowledge base (RAG) with a visual builder for Q&A, agent or workflow apps.
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (159k vs 29.9k GitHub stars).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Dify vs FastGPT side by side
| Dify | FastGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. |
| License | Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) |
| License type | Custom / conditional | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 159k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 22, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Latest release | 1.17.1 | v4.17.2 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose (install script) |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Basic free, more in paid plan | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full Dify guide → | Full FastGPT guide → |
Key differences
- Category: Dify: AI app & agent builders. FastGPT: Knowledge base & RAG.
- License: Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
- Deploy: Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Dify: 159k. FastGPT: 29.9k.
- Latest release: Dify: 1.17.1 (Sep 10, 2026). FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026).
Same for both: GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €19.99/mo; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.
Dify vs FastGPT: FAQ
Dify or FastGPT: which should a small business choose?
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (159k vs 29.9k GitHub stars).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Dify or FastGPT?
Dify: from €19.99/mo. FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Dify and FastGPT need?
Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between Dify and FastGPT?
Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Dify or FastGPT more actively maintained?
Dify: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Dify or FastGPT?
Dify installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); FastGPT via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack). Dify lists 2 known gotchas and FastGPT lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Dify self-hosting guide · FastGPT self-hosting guide
- All Dify alternatives, ranked
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Dify
- AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Dify vs Flowise
- Dify vs Langflow
- Dify vs MaxKB
- Dify vs n8n
- Dify vs RAGFlow
- Dify vs Sim
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Dify GitHub repository: github.com/langgenius/dify
- Dify documentation, Dify hardware requirements: docs.dify.ai/en/self-host/deploy/quick-start/docker-compose
- Dify license: github.com/langgenius/dify/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify deploy instructions: github.com/langgenius/dify#quick-start
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.