FastGPT vs Open Notebook

Short answer

FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. Open Notebook: Private, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose Open Notebook if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

FastGPT vs Open Notebook side by side

FastGPTOpen Notebook
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isKnowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform.Private, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models.
LicenseFastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions)MIT
License typeCustom / conditionalPermissive
License conditionsCommercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars29.9k40.5k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 5, 2026
Latest releasev4.17.2v1.15.0
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM4 GB RAM
Recommended hardware2 vCPU · 8 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo)from €19.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker Compose (install script)Docker Compose
Known gotchas2 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Paid / enterprise onlyNot supported (OIDC not supported · SAML not supported · LDAP not supported)
Audit logNot documentedNo
RBACPaid / enterprise onlyNo
DetailsFull FastGPT guide →Full Open Notebook guide →

Key differences

  • License: FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Open Notebook: MIT (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM.
  • Deploy: FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack. Open Notebook: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: FastGPT: 29.9k. Open Notebook: 40.5k.
  • Last commit: FastGPT: Oct 22, 2026. Open Notebook: Oct 5, 2026.
  • Latest release: FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026). Open Notebook: v1.15.0 (Oct 4, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €19.99/mo; Status: Active.

FastGPT vs Open Notebook: FAQ

FastGPT or Open Notebook: which should a small business choose?

Choose Open Notebook if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).

Which is cheaper to self-host, FastGPT or Open Notebook?

FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. Open Notebook: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do FastGPT and Open Notebook need?

FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM.

What is the license difference between FastGPT and Open Notebook?

FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. Open Notebook: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is FastGPT or Open Notebook more actively maintained?

FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. Open Notebook: Active, last commit Oct 5, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, FastGPT or Open Notebook?

FastGPT installs via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack); Open Notebook via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). FastGPT lists 2 known gotchas and Open Notebook lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.