LightRAG vs RAGFlow

Short answer

LightRAG: Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API. RAGFlow: RAG engine with deep document parsing (OCR, layout and tables) and cited answers. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose RAGFlow if you want: larger community (93.2k vs 40.4k GitHub stars).

LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

LightRAG vs RAGFlow side by side

LightRAGRAGFlow
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isGraph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API.RAG engine with deep document parsing (OCR, layout and tables) and cited answers.
LicenseMITApache-2.0
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars40.4k93.2k
Last commitOct 14, 2026Oct 31, 2026
Latest releasev1.5.7v1.0.0-rc3
Minimum hardwareNot publishedNot published
Recommended hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNo. It calls the model providers you configure.Not required / not stated
Est. server costNot estimatedfrom €69.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed2 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedFree (OIDC free)
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedBasic free, more in paid plan
DetailsFull LightRAG guide →Full RAGFlow guide →

Key differences

  • License: LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). RAGFlow: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: LightRAG: not published. RAGFlow: recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk (no separate minimum published).
  • GPU: LightRAG: optional / see notes. RAGFlow: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). RAGFlow: from €69.99/mo.
  • GitHub stars: LightRAG: 40.4k. RAGFlow: 93.2k.
  • Last commit: LightRAG: Oct 14, 2026. RAGFlow: Oct 31, 2026.
  • Latest release: LightRAG: v1.5.7 (Sep 2, 2026). RAGFlow: v1.0.0-rc3 (Oct 30, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Deploy: Docker Compose · multi-container stack; Status: Active.

LightRAG vs RAGFlow: FAQ

LightRAG or RAGFlow: which should a small business choose?

Choose RAGFlow if you want: larger community (93.2k vs 40.4k GitHub stars). LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, LightRAG or RAGFlow?

LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). RAGFlow: from €69.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do LightRAG and RAGFlow need?

LightRAG: not published. RAGFlow: recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk (no separate minimum published).

What is the license difference between LightRAG and RAGFlow?

LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. RAGFlow: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is LightRAG or RAGFlow more actively maintained?

LightRAG: Active, last commit Oct 14, 2026. RAGFlow: Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, LightRAG or RAGFlow?

LightRAG installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); RAGFlow via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). LightRAG lists 4 known gotchas and RAGFlow lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.