AFFiNE vs LightRAG

Short answer

AFFiNE: Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. LightRAG: Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose AFFiNE if you want: larger community (74.0k vs 40.4k GitHub stars).

Choose LightRAG if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).

LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AFFiNE vs LightRAG side by side

AFFiNELightRAG
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isNotion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker.Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API.
LicenseMIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server codeMIT
License typeOpen corePermissive
License conditionsThe README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars74.0k40.4k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 14, 2026
Latest releasev0.27.4v1.5.7
Minimum hardwareNot publishedNot published
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 2 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNo. It calls the model providers you configure.
Est. server costfrom €35.99/moNot estimated
Deploy methodDocker Compose (official images)Docker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free with limits (OIDC free)Not documented
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull AFFiNE guide →Full LightRAG guide →

Key differences

  • License: AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). LightRAG: MIT (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). LightRAG: not published.
  • GPU: AFFiNE: not required or not stated. LightRAG: optional / see notes.
  • Est. server cost: AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: AFFiNE: Docker Compose (official images) · multi-container stack. LightRAG: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AFFiNE: 74.0k. LightRAG: 40.4k.
  • Last commit: AFFiNE: Oct 27, 2026. LightRAG: Oct 14, 2026.
  • Latest release: AFFiNE: v0.27.4 (Aug 18, 2026). LightRAG: v1.5.7 (Sep 2, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.

AFFiNE vs LightRAG: FAQ

AFFiNE or LightRAG: which should a small business choose?

Choose AFFiNE if you want: larger community (74.0k vs 40.4k GitHub stars). Choose LightRAG if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core). LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, AFFiNE or LightRAG?

AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do AFFiNE and LightRAG need?

AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). LightRAG: not published.

What is the license difference between AFFiNE and LightRAG?

AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AFFiNE or LightRAG more actively maintained?

AFFiNE: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. LightRAG: Active, last commit Oct 14, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AFFiNE or LightRAG?

AFFiNE installs via Docker Compose (official images) (multi-container stack); LightRAG via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AFFiNE lists 4 known gotchas and LightRAG lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.