FastGPT vs LightRAG
Short answer
FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. LightRAG: Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose LightRAG if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
FastGPT vs LightRAG side by side
| FastGPT | LightRAG | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. | Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API. |
| License | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) | MIT |
| License type | Custom / conditional | Permissive |
| License conditions | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 30.0k | 40.4k |
| Last commit | Oct 30, 2026 | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Latest release | v4.17.2 | v1.5.7 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | No. It calls the model providers you configure. |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (install script) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Details | Full FastGPT guide → | Full LightRAG guide → |
Key differences
- License: FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). LightRAG: MIT (Permissive).
- Official hardware: FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). LightRAG: not published.
- GPU: FastGPT: not required or not stated. LightRAG: optional / see notes.
- Est. server cost: FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack. LightRAG: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: FastGPT: 30.0k. LightRAG: 40.4k.
- Last commit: FastGPT: Oct 30, 2026. LightRAG: Oct 14, 2026.
- Latest release: FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026). LightRAG: v1.5.7 (Sep 2, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.
FastGPT vs LightRAG: FAQ
FastGPT or LightRAG: which should a small business choose?
Choose LightRAG if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, FastGPT or LightRAG?
FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do FastGPT and LightRAG need?
FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). LightRAG: not published.
What is the license difference between FastGPT and LightRAG?
FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is FastGPT or LightRAG more actively maintained?
FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. LightRAG: Active, last commit Oct 14, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, FastGPT or LightRAG?
FastGPT installs via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack); LightRAG via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). FastGPT lists 2 known gotchas and LightRAG lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- FastGPT self-hosting guide · LightRAG self-hosting guide
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- All LightRAG alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs FastGPT
- AFFiNE vs LightRAG
- AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
- AnythingLLM vs LightRAG
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Dify vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs LightRAG
- FastGPT vs kotaemon
- FastGPT vs Langchain-Chatchat
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- LightRAG GitHub repository: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG
- LightRAG documentation: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG/blob/main/docs/LightRAG-API-Server.md
- LightRAG license: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG/blob/main/LICENSE
- LightRAG hardware requirements: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG#selecting-backend-storage
- LightRAG deploy instructions: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG#install-lightrag-server
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.