Activepieces vs Windmill
Short answer
Activepieces: Open-source Zapier alternative with AI agents, MCP and human-in-the-loop steps. Windmill: Open-source developer platform for scripts, workflows, AI agents and internal apps, self-hostable. Both are in our Workflow automation with AI category.
Choose Activepieces if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Activepieces and Windmill publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Activepieces vs Windmill side by side
| Activepieces | Windmill | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Workflow automation with AI | Workflow automation with AI |
| What it is | Open-source Zapier alternative with AI agents, MCP and human-in-the-loop steps. | Open-source developer platform for scripts, workflows, AI agents and internal apps, self-hostable. |
| License | MIT (core) + Activepieces Enterprise License (ee directories) | AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms |
| License type | Open core | Open core |
| License conditions | Everything outside packages/ee and packages/server/api/src/app/ee is MIT. Code in those directories needs a commercial license. | The source without the "enterprise" flag is AGPLv3 (clients and OpenAPI spec Apache-2.0). The official Community Edition images include proprietary code: free to use internally and redistribute as is, but not to sell, offer as a managed service, modify or wrap. Embedding it in a product you sell needs a commercial license. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 25.2k | 18.3k |
| Last commit | Oct 23, 2026 | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Latest release | 0.92.3-hotfix.1 | v1.848.2 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | 1.3 GiB idle, 2.4 GiB working (our test, v0.92.3, Oct 22, 2026) | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €35.99/mo (based on our test, not official) | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker (single container, embedded DB) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only (SAML paid) | Free with limits (OIDC free with limits · SAML paid) |
| Audit log | Paid / enterprise only | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full Activepieces guide → | Full Windmill guide → |
Key differences
- License: Activepieces: MIT (core) + Activepieces Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). Windmill: AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms (Open core).
- Deploy: Activepieces: Docker (single container, embedded DB) · single container. Windmill: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Activepieces: 25.2k. Windmill: 18.3k.
- Last commit: Activepieces: Oct 23, 2026. Windmill: Oct 24, 2026.
- Latest release: Activepieces: 0.92.3-hotfix.1 (Oct 23, 2026). Windmill: v1.848.2 (Oct 24, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Workflow automation with AI; Official hardware: not published; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: not estimated (no official RAM figure); Status: Active.
Activepieces vs Windmill: FAQ
Activepieces or Windmill: which should a small business choose?
Choose Activepieces if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Activepieces and Windmill publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Activepieces or Windmill?
Activepieces: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Windmill: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Activepieces and Windmill need?
Activepieces: not published. Windmill: not published.
What is the license difference between Activepieces and Windmill?
Activepieces: MIT (core) + Activepieces Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). Everything outside packages/ee and packages/server/api/src/app/ee is MIT. Code in those directories needs a commercial license. Windmill: AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms (Open core). The source without the "enterprise" flag is AGPLv3 (clients and OpenAPI spec Apache-2.0). The official Community Edition images include proprietary code: free to use internally and redistribute as is, but not to sell, offer as a managed service, modify or wrap. Embedding it in a product you sell needs a commercial license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Activepieces or Windmill more actively maintained?
Activepieces: Active, last commit Oct 23, 2026. Windmill: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 24, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Activepieces or Windmill?
Activepieces installs via Docker (single container, embedded DB) (single container); Windmill via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Activepieces lists 3 known gotchas and Windmill lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Activepieces self-hosting guide · Windmill self-hosting guide
- All Activepieces alternatives, ranked
- All Windmill alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Dify
- Activepieces vs Langflow
- Activepieces vs n8n
- Activepieces vs Sim
- Activepieces vs Skyvern
- n8n vs Windmill
- Skyvern vs Windmill
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Activepieces GitHub repository: github.com/activepieces/activepieces
- Activepieces documentation, Activepieces hardware requirements, Activepieces deploy instructions: www.activepieces.com/docs/install/options/docker
- Activepieces license: github.com/activepieces/activepieces/blob/main/LICENSE
- Windmill GitHub repository: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill
- Windmill documentation: www.windmill.dev/docs/
- Windmill license: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill/blob/main/LICENSE
- Windmill hardware requirements: www.windmill.dev/docs/advanced/self_host
- Windmill deploy instructions: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill#docker-compose
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.