n8n vs Windmill
Short answer
n8n: Workflow automation with 1,500+ integrations and built-in AI agent nodes. Windmill: Open-source developer platform for scripts, workflows, AI agents and internal apps, self-hostable. Both are in our Workflow automation with AI category.
Choose n8n if you want: larger community (208k vs 18.3k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose Windmill if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Source-available).
n8n and Windmill publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
n8n vs Windmill side by side
| n8n | Windmill | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Workflow automation with AI | Workflow automation with AI |
| What it is | Workflow automation with 1,500+ integrations and built-in AI agent nodes. | Open-source developer platform for scripts, workflows, AI agents and internal apps, self-hostable. |
| License | Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files | AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms |
| License type | Source-available | Open core |
| License conditions | You may use or modify n8n for your own internal business purposes or for non-commercial use. You may not sell it or offer it to others as a paid service. Files with ".ee" in the name need an n8n Enterprise License. | The source without the "enterprise" flag is AGPLv3 (clients and OpenAPI spec Apache-2.0). The official Community Edition images include proprietary code: free to use internally and redistribute as is, but not to sell, offer as a managed service, modify or wrap. Embedding it in a product you sell needs a commercial license. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 208k | 18.3k |
| Last commit | Oct 23, 2026 | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Latest release | [email protected] | v1.848.2 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | 412 MiB idle, 607 MiB working (our test, v2.44.6, Oct 22, 2026) | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €11.99/mo (based on our test, not official) | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid) | Free with limits (OIDC free with limits · SAML paid) |
| Audit log | Paid / enterprise only | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full n8n guide → | Full Windmill guide → |
Key differences
- License: n8n: Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files (Source-available). Windmill: AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms (Open core).
- Deploy: n8n: Docker · single container. Windmill: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: n8n: 208k. Windmill: 18.3k.
- Last commit: n8n: Oct 23, 2026. Windmill: Oct 24, 2026.
- Latest release: n8n: [email protected] (Oct 22, 2026). Windmill: v1.848.2 (Oct 24, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Workflow automation with AI; Official hardware: not published; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: not estimated (no official RAM figure); Status: Active.
n8n vs Windmill: FAQ
n8n or Windmill: which should a small business choose?
Choose n8n if you want: larger community (208k vs 18.3k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Windmill if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Source-available). n8n and Windmill publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, n8n or Windmill?
n8n: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Windmill: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do n8n and Windmill need?
n8n: not published. Windmill: not published.
What is the license difference between n8n and Windmill?
n8n: Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files (Source-available). You may use or modify n8n for your own internal business purposes or for non-commercial use. You may not sell it or offer it to others as a paid service. Files with ".ee" in the name need an n8n Enterprise License. Windmill: AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms (Open core). The source without the "enterprise" flag is AGPLv3 (clients and OpenAPI spec Apache-2.0). The official Community Edition images include proprietary code: free to use internally and redistribute as is, but not to sell, offer as a managed service, modify or wrap. Embedding it in a product you sell needs a commercial license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is n8n or Windmill more actively maintained?
n8n: Active, last commit Oct 23, 2026. Windmill: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 24, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, n8n or Windmill?
n8n installs via Docker (single container); Windmill via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). n8n lists 2 known gotchas and Windmill lists 4; see each app page.
Related
Sources
- n8n GitHub repository: github.com/n8n-io/n8n
- n8n documentation, n8n deploy instructions: docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/install-with-docker
- n8n license: github.com/n8n-io/n8n/blob/master/LICENSE.md
- n8n hardware requirements: docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/scaling/fix-memory-issues
- Windmill GitHub repository: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill
- Windmill documentation: www.windmill.dev/docs/
- Windmill license: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill/blob/main/LICENSE
- Windmill hardware requirements: www.windmill.dev/docs/advanced/self_host
- Windmill deploy instructions: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill#docker-compose
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.