Skyvern vs Windmill
Short answer
Skyvern: Browser automation agent that uses LLMs and computer vision to fill forms and run workflows on websites. Windmill: Open-source developer platform for scripts, workflows, AI agents and internal apps, self-hostable. Both are in our Workflow automation with AI category.
Choose Windmill if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Network copyleft (AGPL)).
Windmill publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Skyvern vs Windmill side by side
| Skyvern | Windmill | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Workflow automation with AI | Workflow automation with AI |
| What it is | Browser automation agent that uses LLMs and computer vision to fill forms and run workflows on websites. | Open-source developer platform for scripts, workflows, AI agents and internal apps, self-hostable. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 (anti-bot features only in the managed cloud) | AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Open core |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Skyvern and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. Anti-bot measures are not in the open-source repository. | The source without the "enterprise" flag is AGPLv3 (clients and OpenAPI spec Apache-2.0). The official Community Edition images include proprietary code: free to use internally and redistribute as is, but not to sell, offer as a managed service, modify or wrap. Embedding it in a product you sell needs a commercial license. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 23.3k | 18.3k |
| Last commit | Oct 24, 2026 | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.0.56 | v1.848.2 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | 4 GB RAM | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free with limits (OIDC free with limits · SAML paid) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| RBAC | Not documented | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full Skyvern guide → | Full Windmill guide → |
Key differences
- License: Skyvern: AGPL-3.0 (anti-bot features only in the managed cloud) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Windmill: AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms (Open core).
- Official hardware: Skyvern: recommended 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Windmill: not published.
- Est. server cost: Skyvern: from €19.99/mo. Windmill: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- GitHub stars: Skyvern: 23.3k. Windmill: 18.3k.
- Latest release: Skyvern: v1.0.56 (Oct 14, 2026). Windmill: v1.848.2 (Oct 24, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Workflow automation with AI; GPU: not required or not stated; Deploy: Docker Compose · multi-container stack; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 24, 2026.
Skyvern vs Windmill: FAQ
Skyvern or Windmill: which should a small business choose?
Choose Windmill if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Network copyleft (AGPL)). Windmill publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Skyvern or Windmill?
Skyvern: from €19.99/mo. Windmill: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Skyvern and Windmill need?
Skyvern: recommended 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Windmill: not published.
What is the license difference between Skyvern and Windmill?
Skyvern: AGPL-3.0 (anti-bot features only in the managed cloud) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Skyvern and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. Anti-bot measures are not in the open-source repository. Windmill: AGPLv3 + Apache-2.0 clients; proprietary enterprise code; Community Edition images under Windmill terms (Open core). The source without the "enterprise" flag is AGPLv3 (clients and OpenAPI spec Apache-2.0). The official Community Edition images include proprietary code: free to use internally and redistribute as is, but not to sell, offer as a managed service, modify or wrap. Embedding it in a product you sell needs a commercial license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Skyvern or Windmill more actively maintained?
Skyvern: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. Windmill: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 24, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Skyvern or Windmill?
Skyvern installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Windmill via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Skyvern lists 4 known gotchas and Windmill lists 4; see each app page.
Related
Sources
- Skyvern GitHub repository: github.com/Skyvern-AI/skyvern
- Skyvern documentation: www.skyvern.com/docs/
- Skyvern license: github.com/Skyvern-AI/skyvern/blob/main/LICENSE
- Skyvern hardware requirements: www.skyvern.com/docs/reference/configuration
- Skyvern deploy instructions: www.skyvern.com/docs/developers/self-hosted/overview
- Windmill GitHub repository: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill
- Windmill documentation: www.windmill.dev/docs/
- Windmill license: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill/blob/main/LICENSE
- Windmill hardware requirements: www.windmill.dev/docs/advanced/self_host
- Windmill deploy instructions: github.com/windmill-labs/windmill#docker-compose
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.