Agent Zero vs Flowise

Short answer

Agent Zero: General-purpose personal AI agent that uses its own Linux environment, browser, memory and tools. Flowise: Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026). Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.

Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, Agent Zero is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it.

Choose Agent Zero if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core), an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Choose Flowise if you want: larger community (55.5k vs 19.7k GitHub stars).

Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Agent Zero vs Flowise side by side

Agent ZeroFlowise
CategoryAI app & agent buildersAI app & agent builders
What it isGeneral-purpose personal AI agent that uses its own Linux environment, browser, memory and tools.Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026).
LicenseMITApache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license)
License typePermissiveOpen core
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice.Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license.
StatusActiveArchived
GitHub stars19.7k55.5k
Last commitNov 1, 2026Aug 13, 2026
Latest releasev2.15[email protected]
Minimum hardware1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 20 GB diskNot published
Recommended hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 50 GB diskNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNo. It calls the model providers you configure; no GPU requirement is documented.Not required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €11.99/mo (recommended spec: €19.99/mo)Not estimated
Deploy methodDocker (single container)npm or Docker Compose
Known gotchas3 listed3 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedPaid / enterprise only (OIDC paid)
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
DetailsFull Agent Zero guide →Full Flowise guide →

Key differences

  • License: Agent Zero: MIT (Permissive). Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core).
  • Official hardware: Agent Zero: minimum 1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 50 GB disk). Flowise: not published.
  • GPU: Agent Zero: optional / see notes. Flowise: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: Agent Zero: from €11.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: Agent Zero: Docker (single container) · single container. Flowise: npm or Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • Status: Agent Zero: Active. Flowise: Archived.
  • GitHub stars: Agent Zero: 19.7k. Flowise: 55.5k.
  • Last commit: Agent Zero: Nov 1, 2026. Flowise: Aug 13, 2026.
  • Latest release: Agent Zero: v2.15 (Nov 1, 2026). Flowise: [email protected] (Jul 29, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders.

Agent Zero vs Flowise: FAQ

Agent Zero or Flowise: which should a small business choose?

Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, Agent Zero is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it. Choose Agent Zero if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core), an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Flowise if you want: larger community (55.5k vs 19.7k GitHub stars). Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, Agent Zero or Flowise?

Agent Zero: from €11.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do Agent Zero and Flowise need?

Agent Zero: minimum 1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 50 GB disk). Flowise: not published.

What is the license difference between Agent Zero and Flowise?

Agent Zero: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core). Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Agent Zero or Flowise more actively maintained?

Agent Zero: Active, last commit Nov 1, 2026. Flowise: Archived, last commit Aug 13, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Agent Zero or Flowise?

Agent Zero installs via Docker (single container) (single container); Flowise via npm or Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Agent Zero lists 3 known gotchas and Flowise lists 3; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.