Agent Zero vs AutoGPT Platform
Short answer
Agent Zero: General-purpose personal AI agent that uses its own Linux environment, browser, memory and tools. AutoGPT Platform: Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose Agent Zero if you want: cheaper to host (from €11.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 6 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available).
Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 19.7k GitHub stars).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Agent Zero vs AutoGPT Platform side by side
| Agent Zero | AutoGPT Platform | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | General-purpose personal AI agent that uses its own Linux environment, browser, memory and tools. | Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. |
| License | MIT | Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest |
| License type | Permissive | Source-available |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. | The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 19.7k | 188k |
| Last commit | Nov 1, 2026 | Nov 1, 2026 |
| Latest release | v2.15 | autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 |
| Minimum hardware | 1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 20 GB disk | 6 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 50 GB disk | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. It calls the model providers you configure; no GPU requirement is documented. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €11.99/mo (recommended spec: €19.99/mo) | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker (single container) | Docker (single container) |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full Agent Zero guide → | Full AutoGPT Platform guide → |
Key differences
- License: Agent Zero: MIT (Permissive). AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available).
- Official hardware: Agent Zero: minimum 1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 50 GB disk). AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM.
- GPU: Agent Zero: optional / see notes. AutoGPT Platform: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: Agent Zero: from €11.99/mo. AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo.
- GitHub stars: Agent Zero: 19.7k. AutoGPT Platform: 188k.
- Latest release: Agent Zero: v2.15 (Nov 1, 2026). AutoGPT Platform: autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 (Oct 27, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Deploy: Docker (single container) · single container; Status: Active; Last commit: Nov 1, 2026.
Agent Zero vs AutoGPT Platform: FAQ
Agent Zero or AutoGPT Platform: which should a small business choose?
Choose Agent Zero if you want: cheaper to host (from €11.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 6 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available). Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 19.7k GitHub stars).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Agent Zero or AutoGPT Platform?
Agent Zero: cheaper to host (from €11.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).
How much hardware do Agent Zero and AutoGPT Platform need?
Agent Zero: minimum 1 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 50 GB disk). AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM.
What is the license difference between Agent Zero and AutoGPT Platform?
Agent Zero: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Agent Zero or AutoGPT Platform more actively maintained?
Agent Zero: Active, last commit Nov 1, 2026. AutoGPT Platform: Active, last commit Nov 1, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Agent Zero or AutoGPT Platform?
Agent Zero installs via Docker (single container) (single container); AutoGPT Platform via Docker (single container) (single container). Agent Zero lists 3 known gotchas and AutoGPT Platform lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Agent Zero self-hosting guide · AutoGPT Platform self-hosting guide
- All Agent Zero alternatives, ranked
- All AutoGPT Platform alternatives, ranked
- Agent Zero vs AstrBot
- Agent Zero vs CowAgent
- Agent Zero vs Coze Studio
- Agent Zero vs DB-GPT
- Agent Zero vs Dify
- Agent Zero vs Flowise
- Agent Zero vs Langflow
- Agent Zero vs Mem0
- Agent Zero vs Sim
- AstrBot vs AutoGPT Platform
- AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent
- AutoGPT Platform vs Coze Studio
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Agent Zero GitHub repository: github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero
- Agent Zero documentation, Agent Zero deploy instructions: github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/setup/installation.md
- Agent Zero license: github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/LICENSE
- Agent Zero hardware requirements: github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/setup/vps-deployment.md
- AutoGPT Platform GitHub repository: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT
- AutoGPT Platform documentation, AutoGPT Platform hardware requirements: agpt.co/docs/platform/self-hosting/single-container
- AutoGPT Platform license: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT/blob/master/LICENSE
- AutoGPT Platform deploy instructions: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT#self-host-autogpt
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-11-01): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.