CowAgent vs Dify
Short answer
CowAgent: Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose CowAgent if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (160k vs 47.7k GitHub stars).
CowAgent publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
CowAgent vs Dify side by side
| CowAgent | Dify | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. | Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. |
| License | MIT | Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. | Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 47.7k | 160k |
| Last commit | Oct 30, 2026 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | 2.2.2 | 1.18.0 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. It calls the model providers you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (official compose file) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Yes, by default |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full CowAgent guide → | Full Dify guide → |
Key differences
- License: CowAgent: MIT (Permissive). Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: CowAgent: not published. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
- GPU: CowAgent: optional / see notes. Dify: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: CowAgent: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Dify: from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: CowAgent: Docker Compose (official compose file) · multi-container stack. Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: CowAgent: 47.7k. Dify: 160k.
- Latest release: CowAgent: 2.2.2 (Oct 30, 2026). Dify: 1.18.0 (Oct 23, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 30, 2026.
CowAgent vs Dify: FAQ
CowAgent or Dify: which should a small business choose?
Choose CowAgent if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose Dify if you want: larger community (160k vs 47.7k GitHub stars). CowAgent publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, CowAgent or Dify?
CowAgent: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Dify: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do CowAgent and Dify need?
CowAgent: not published. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
What is the license difference between CowAgent and Dify?
CowAgent: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is CowAgent or Dify more actively maintained?
CowAgent: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. Dify: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 30, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, CowAgent or Dify?
CowAgent installs via Docker Compose (official compose file) (multi-container stack); Dify via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). CowAgent lists 3 known gotchas and Dify lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- CowAgent self-hosting guide · Dify self-hosting guide
- All CowAgent alternatives, ranked
- All Dify alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Dify
- AstrBot vs CowAgent
- AstrBot vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- CowAgent vs Coze Studio
- CowAgent vs Flowise
- CowAgent vs Langflow
- CowAgent vs Mem0
- CowAgent vs Sim
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Dify vs FastGPT
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- CowAgent GitHub repository: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent
- CowAgent documentation, CowAgent hardware requirements: docs.cowagent.ai/guide/quick-start
- CowAgent license: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent/blob/master/LICENSE
- CowAgent deploy instructions: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent#readme
- Dify GitHub repository: github.com/langgenius/dify
- Dify documentation, Dify hardware requirements: docs.dify.ai/en/self-host/deploy/quick-start/docker-compose
- Dify license: github.com/langgenius/dify/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify deploy instructions: github.com/langgenius/dify#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.