DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
Short answer
DocsGPT: Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. Onyx (formerly Danswer): AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose DocsGPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
Choose Onyx (formerly Danswer) if you want: larger community (32.9k vs 18.3k GitHub stars).
DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer) side by side
| DocsGPT | Onyx (formerly Danswer) | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. | AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. |
| License | MIT | MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) |
| License type | Permissive | Open core |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 18.3k | 32.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 24, 2026 | Oct 23, 2026 |
| Latest release | 1.0.0 | v5.0.0 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Install script (Docker Compose) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Not documented |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Not documented |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full DocsGPT guide → | Full Onyx (formerly Danswer) guide → |
Key differences
- License: DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core).
- Official hardware: DocsGPT: not published. Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).
- Est. server cost: DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: DocsGPT: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Install script (Docker Compose) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: DocsGPT: 18.3k. Onyx (formerly Danswer): 32.9k.
- Last commit: DocsGPT: Oct 24, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Oct 23, 2026.
- Latest release: DocsGPT: 1.0.0 (Oct 8, 2026). Onyx (formerly Danswer): v5.0.0 (Oct 24, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer): FAQ
DocsGPT or Onyx (formerly Danswer): which should a small business choose?
Choose DocsGPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core). Choose Onyx (formerly Danswer) if you want: larger community (32.9k vs 18.3k GitHub stars). DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, DocsGPT or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do DocsGPT and Onyx (formerly Danswer) need?
DocsGPT: not published. Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).
What is the license difference between DocsGPT and Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is DocsGPT or Onyx (formerly Danswer) more actively maintained?
DocsGPT: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Active, last commit Oct 23, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 24, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, DocsGPT or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
DocsGPT installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Onyx (formerly Danswer) via Install script (Docker Compose) (multi-container stack). DocsGPT lists 4 known gotchas and Onyx (formerly Danswer) lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- DocsGPT self-hosting guide · Onyx (formerly Danswer) self-hosting guide
- All DocsGPT alternatives, ranked
- All Onyx (formerly Danswer) alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs DocsGPT
- AnythingLLM vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- DocsGPT vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs kotaemon
- DocsGPT vs MaxKB
- DocsGPT vs Open Notebook
- DocsGPT vs PrivateGPT
- DocsGPT vs RAGFlow
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Khoj vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- kotaemon vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- MaxKB vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- DocsGPT GitHub repository: github.com/arc53/DocsGPT
- DocsGPT documentation: docs.docsgpt.cloud/
- DocsGPT license: github.com/arc53/DocsGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- DocsGPT hardware requirements, DocsGPT deploy instructions: docs.docsgpt.cloud/Deploying/Docker-Deploying
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) GitHub repository: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) documentation, Onyx (formerly Danswer) hardware requirements: docs.onyx.app/deployment/getting_started/resourcing
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) license: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx/blob/main/LICENSE
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) deploy instructions: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.