AFFiNE vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)

Short answer

AFFiNE: Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. Onyx (formerly Danswer): AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose AFFiNE if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and larger community (74.0k vs 33.1k GitHub stars).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AFFiNE vs Onyx (formerly Danswer) side by side

AFFiNEOnyx (formerly Danswer)
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isNotion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker.AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps.
LicenseMIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server codeMIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories)
License typeOpen coreOpen core
License conditionsThe README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License.The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars74.0k33.1k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 29, 2026
Latest releasev0.27.4v5.0.1
Minimum hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €35.99/mofrom €69.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker Compose (official images)Install script (Docker Compose)
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free with limits (OIDC free)Not documented
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
DetailsFull AFFiNE guide →Full Onyx (formerly Danswer) guide →

Key differences

  • License: AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core).
  • Official hardware: AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).
  • Est. server cost: AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo.
  • Deploy: AFFiNE: Docker Compose (official images) · multi-container stack. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Install script (Docker Compose) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AFFiNE: 74.0k. Onyx (formerly Danswer): 33.1k.
  • Last commit: AFFiNE: Oct 27, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Oct 29, 2026.
  • Latest release: AFFiNE: v0.27.4 (Aug 18, 2026). Onyx (formerly Danswer): v5.0.1 (Oct 26, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

AFFiNE vs Onyx (formerly Danswer): FAQ

AFFiNE or Onyx (formerly Danswer): which should a small business choose?

Choose AFFiNE if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and larger community (74.0k vs 33.1k GitHub stars).

Which is cheaper to self-host, AFFiNE or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?

AFFiNE: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).

How much hardware do AFFiNE and Onyx (formerly Danswer) need?

AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).

What is the license difference between AFFiNE and Onyx (formerly Danswer)?

AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AFFiNE or Onyx (formerly Danswer) more actively maintained?

AFFiNE: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Active, last commit Oct 29, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 29, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AFFiNE or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?

AFFiNE installs via Docker Compose (official images) (multi-container stack); Onyx (formerly Danswer) via Install script (Docker Compose) (multi-container stack). AFFiNE lists 4 known gotchas and Onyx (formerly Danswer) lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.