FastGPT vs Langchain-Chatchat

Short answer

FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. Langchain-Chatchat: Chinese-first local knowledge-base Q&A and agent app built on LangChain, wired to local model servers. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose FastGPT if you want: an actively maintained project (Langchain-Chatchat is stale).

Choose Langchain-Chatchat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).

Langchain-Chatchat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

FastGPT vs Langchain-Chatchat side by side

FastGPTLangchain-Chatchat
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isKnowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform.Chinese-first local knowledge-base Q&A and agent app built on LangChain, wired to local model servers.
LicenseFastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions)Apache-2.0
License typeCustom / conditionalPermissive
License conditionsCommercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses.
StatusActiveStale (no commit in 180+ days)
GitHub stars30.0k38.7k
Last commitOct 30, 2026Nov 10, 2025
Latest releasev4.17.2v0.3.1
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAMNot published
Recommended hardware2 vCPU · 8 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required by the app itself. Since 0.3.0 hardware depends on the model server you connect; the docs say it can run on CPU, GPU, NPU or MPS. The Docker Compose guide pairs it with Xinference and assumes the NVIDIA Container Toolkit.
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo)Not estimated
Deploy methodDocker Compose (install script)pip (or Docker Compose with Xinference)
Known gotchas2 listed5 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Paid / enterprise onlyNot documented
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACPaid / enterprise onlyNot documented
DetailsFull FastGPT guide →Full Langchain-Chatchat guide →

Key differences

  • License: FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Langchain-Chatchat: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). Langchain-Chatchat: not published.
  • GPU: FastGPT: not required or not stated. Langchain-Chatchat: optional / see notes.
  • Est. server cost: FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. Langchain-Chatchat: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack. Langchain-Chatchat: pip (or Docker Compose with Xinference) · multi-container stack.
  • Status: FastGPT: Active. Langchain-Chatchat: Stale (no commit in 180+ days).
  • GitHub stars: FastGPT: 30.0k. Langchain-Chatchat: 38.7k.
  • Last commit: FastGPT: Oct 30, 2026. Langchain-Chatchat: Nov 10, 2025.
  • Latest release: FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026). Langchain-Chatchat: v0.3.1 (Jul 12, 2024).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG.

FastGPT vs Langchain-Chatchat: FAQ

FastGPT or Langchain-Chatchat: which should a small business choose?

Choose FastGPT if you want: an actively maintained project (Langchain-Chatchat is stale). Choose Langchain-Chatchat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Langchain-Chatchat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, FastGPT or Langchain-Chatchat?

FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. Langchain-Chatchat: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do FastGPT and Langchain-Chatchat need?

FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). Langchain-Chatchat: not published.

What is the license difference between FastGPT and Langchain-Chatchat?

FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. Langchain-Chatchat: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is FastGPT or Langchain-Chatchat more actively maintained?

FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. Langchain-Chatchat: Stale (no commit in 180+ days), last commit Nov 10, 2025. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, FastGPT or Langchain-Chatchat?

FastGPT installs via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack); Langchain-Chatchat via pip (or Docker Compose with Xinference) (multi-container stack). FastGPT lists 2 known gotchas and Langchain-Chatchat lists 5; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.