Jan vs LibreChat

Short answer

Jan: Offline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer. LibreChat: Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.

Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app).

Choose LibreChat if you want: lighter official minimum (1 GB vs 8 GB RAM).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Jan vs LibreChat side by side

JanLibreChat
CategoryPrivate ChatGPT-style chatPrivate ChatGPT-style chat
What it isOffline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer.Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management.
LicenseApache-2.0MIT
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars45.0k46.1k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 22, 2026
Latest releasev0.8.7—
Minimum hardware8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM
Recommended hardware16 GB RAM2 GB RAM
GPU6 GB VRAM minimum for GPU accelerationNot required / not stated
Est. server costNo server (desktop app)from €6.49/mo (recommended spec: €11.99/mo)
Deploy methodDesktop installerDocker Compose
Known gotchas2 listed2 listed
DetailsFull Jan guide →Full LibreChat guide →

Key differences

  • License: Jan: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). LibreChat: MIT (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM). LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).
  • GPU: Jan: optional / see notes. LibreChat: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: Jan: no server (desktop app). LibreChat: from €6.49/mo.
  • Deploy: Jan: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer. LibreChat: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: Jan: 45.0k. LibreChat: 46.1k.
  • Latest release: Jan: v0.8.7 (Oct 20, 2026). LibreChat: none published.

Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.

Jan vs LibreChat: FAQ

Jan or LibreChat: which should a small business choose?

Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app). Choose LibreChat if you want: lighter official minimum (1 GB vs 8 GB RAM).

Which is cheaper to self-host, Jan or LibreChat?

Jan: no server to rent (desktop app).

How much hardware do Jan and LibreChat need?

Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM). LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).

What is the license difference between Jan and LibreChat?

Jan: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. LibreChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Jan or LibreChat more actively maintained?

Jan: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. LibreChat: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Jan or LibreChat?

Jan installs via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer); LibreChat via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Jan lists 2 known gotchas and LibreChat lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.