Bionic vs LibreChat
Short answer
Bionic: Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. LibreChat: Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose LibreChat if you want: larger community (46.4k vs 2.4k GitHub stars).
Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Bionic vs LibreChat side by side
| Bionic | LibreChat | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. | Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | MIT |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 2.4k | 46.4k |
| Last commit | Oct 7, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.12.28 | — |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 2 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | 750 MiB idle, 941 MiB working (our test, v0.8.8, Oct 22, 2026) |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €6.49/mo (recommended spec: €11.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (evaluation) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Free (OIDC free · SAML free · LDAP free) |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Not documented |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Not documented |
| Details | Full Bionic guide → | Full LibreChat guide → |
Key differences
- License: Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). LibreChat: MIT (Permissive).
- Official hardware: Bionic: not published. LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).
- Est. server cost: Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). LibreChat: from €6.49/mo.
- Deploy: Bionic: Docker Compose (evaluation) · multi-container stack. LibreChat: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Bionic: 2.4k. LibreChat: 46.4k.
- Last commit: Bionic: Oct 7, 2026. LibreChat: Oct 26, 2026.
- Latest release: Bionic: v1.12.28 (Oct 1, 2026). LibreChat: none published.
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Bionic vs LibreChat: FAQ
Bionic or LibreChat: which should a small business choose?
Choose LibreChat if you want: larger community (46.4k vs 2.4k GitHub stars). Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Bionic or LibreChat?
Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). LibreChat: from €6.49/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Bionic and LibreChat need?
Bionic: not published. LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between Bionic and LibreChat?
Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. LibreChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Bionic or LibreChat more actively maintained?
Bionic: Active, last commit Oct 7, 2026. LibreChat: Active, last commit Oct 26, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Bionic or LibreChat?
Bionic installs via Docker Compose (evaluation) (multi-container stack); LibreChat via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Bionic lists 3 known gotchas and LibreChat lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Bionic self-hosting guide · LibreChat self-hosting guide
- All Bionic alternatives, ranked
- All LibreChat alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs LibreChat
- Bionic vs Cherry Studio
- Bionic vs Jan
- Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Bionic vs NextChat
- Bionic vs Open WebUI
- Cherry Studio vs LibreChat
- Jan vs LibreChat
- LibreChat vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- LibreChat vs NextChat
- LibreChat vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Bionic GitHub repository: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt
- Bionic documentation: bionic-gpt.com/docs/
- Bionic license: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt/blob/main/LICENCE
- Bionic hardware requirements: bionic-gpt.com/docs/private-cloud/installation-prerequisite/
- Bionic deploy instructions: bionic-gpt.com/docs/running-locally/docker-compose/
- LibreChat GitHub repository: github.com/LibreChat-AI/LibreChat
- LibreChat documentation, LibreChat hardware requirements, LibreChat deploy instructions: www.librechat.ai/docs/local/docker
- LibreChat license: github.com/LibreChat-AI/LibreChat/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.