Bionic vs Jan
Short answer
Bionic: Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. Jan: Offline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app) and larger community (45.1k vs 2.4k GitHub stars).
Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Bionic vs Jan side by side
| Bionic | Jan | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. | Offline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 2.4k | 45.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 7, 2026 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.12.28 | v0.8.7 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 16 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | 6 GB VRAM minimum for GPU acceleration |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | No server (desktop app) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (evaluation) | Desktop installer |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Off by default (opt-in) |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Not documented |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Not documented |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Not documented |
| Details | Full Bionic guide → | Full Jan guide → |
Key differences
- Official hardware: Bionic: not published. Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM).
- GPU: Bionic: not required or not stated. Jan: optional / see notes.
- Est. server cost: Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Jan: no server (desktop app).
- Deploy: Bionic: Docker Compose (evaluation) · multi-container stack. Jan: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer.
- GitHub stars: Bionic: 2.4k. Jan: 45.1k.
- Last commit: Bionic: Oct 7, 2026. Jan: Oct 27, 2026.
- Latest release: Bionic: v1.12.28 (Oct 1, 2026). Jan: v0.8.7 (Oct 20, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; License: Apache-2.0 (Permissive); Status: Active.
Bionic vs Jan: FAQ
Bionic or Jan: which should a small business choose?
Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app) and larger community (45.1k vs 2.4k GitHub stars). Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Bionic or Jan?
Jan: no server to rent (desktop app).
How much hardware do Bionic and Jan need?
Bionic: not published. Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between Bionic and Jan?
Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. Jan: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Bionic or Jan more actively maintained?
Bionic: Active, last commit Oct 7, 2026. Jan: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Bionic or Jan?
Bionic installs via Docker Compose (evaluation) (multi-container stack); Jan via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer). Bionic lists 3 known gotchas and Jan lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Bionic self-hosting guide · Jan self-hosting guide
- All Bionic alternatives, ranked
- All Jan alternatives, ranked
- Bionic vs Cherry Studio
- Bionic vs LibreChat
- Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Bionic vs NextChat
- Bionic vs Open WebUI
- Cherry Studio vs Jan
- Jan vs LibreChat
- Jan vs llama.cpp
- Jan vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Jan vs LocalAI
- Jan vs NextChat
- Jan vs Ollama
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Bionic GitHub repository: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt
- Bionic documentation: bionic-gpt.com/docs/
- Bionic license: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt/blob/main/LICENCE
- Bionic hardware requirements: bionic-gpt.com/docs/private-cloud/installation-prerequisite/
- Bionic deploy instructions: bionic-gpt.com/docs/running-locally/docker-compose/
- Jan GitHub repository: github.com/janhq/jan
- Jan documentation, Jan hardware requirements, Jan deploy instructions: docs.jan.ai/desktop/install/linux
- Jan license: github.com/janhq/jan/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.