Karakeep vs MaxKB
Short answer
Karakeep: Self-hosted bookmark and read-later app (formerly Hoarder) with AI tagging, summaries and full-text search. MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose MaxKB if you want: fewer license conditions (Copyleft (GPL) vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Karakeep publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Karakeep vs MaxKB side by side
| Karakeep | MaxKB | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Self-hosted bookmark and read-later app (formerly Hoarder) with AI tagging, summaries and full-text search. | Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 | GPL-3.0 |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Copyleft (GPL) |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Karakeep and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. | Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 30.2k | 23.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 31, 2026 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.34.1 | v2.10.8-lts |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. AI tagging calls OpenAI or an Ollama server you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full Karakeep guide → | Full MaxKB guide → |
Key differences
- License: Karakeep: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)).
- Official hardware: Karakeep: not published. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
- GPU: Karakeep: optional / see notes. MaxKB: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: Karakeep: not estimated (no official RAM figure). MaxKB: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: Karakeep: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. MaxKB: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: Karakeep: 30.2k. MaxKB: 23.1k.
- Last commit: Karakeep: Oct 31, 2026. MaxKB: Oct 30, 2026.
- Latest release: Karakeep: v0.34.1 (Oct 22, 2026). MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.
Karakeep vs MaxKB: FAQ
Karakeep or MaxKB: which should a small business choose?
Choose MaxKB if you want: fewer license conditions (Copyleft (GPL) vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Karakeep publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Karakeep or MaxKB?
Karakeep: not estimated (no official RAM figure). MaxKB: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Karakeep and MaxKB need?
Karakeep: not published. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
What is the license difference between Karakeep and MaxKB?
Karakeep: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Karakeep and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Karakeep or MaxKB more actively maintained?
Karakeep: Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 1, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Karakeep or MaxKB?
Karakeep installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); MaxKB via Docker (single container). Karakeep lists 4 known gotchas and MaxKB lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Karakeep self-hosting guide · MaxKB self-hosting guide
- All Karakeep alternatives, ranked
- All MaxKB alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs Karakeep
- AFFiNE vs MaxKB
- AnythingLLM vs Karakeep
- AnythingLLM vs MaxKB
- Coze Studio vs MaxKB
- Dify vs MaxKB
- DocsGPT vs Karakeep
- DocsGPT vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs Karakeep
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- Karakeep vs kotaemon
- Karakeep vs Langchain-Chatchat
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Karakeep GitHub repository: github.com/karakeep-app/karakeep
- Karakeep documentation, Karakeep hardware requirements, Karakeep deploy instructions: docs.karakeep.com/installation/docker/
- Karakeep license: github.com/karakeep-app/karakeep/blob/main/LICENSE
- MaxKB GitHub repository: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB
- MaxKB documentation, MaxKB hardware requirements: docs.fit2cloud.com/maxkb/installation/offline_installtion
- MaxKB license: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB/blob/v2/LICENSE
- MaxKB deploy instructions: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.