AFFiNE vs Karakeep

Short answer

AFFiNE: Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. Karakeep: Self-hosted bookmark and read-later app (formerly Hoarder) with AI tagging, summaries and full-text search. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose AFFiNE if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (74.0k vs 30.2k GitHub stars).

Karakeep publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AFFiNE vs Karakeep side by side

AFFiNEKarakeep
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isNotion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker.Self-hosted bookmark and read-later app (formerly Hoarder) with AI tagging, summaries and full-text search.
LicenseMIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server codeAGPL-3.0
License typeOpen coreNetwork copyleft (AGPL)
License conditionsThe README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License.Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Karakeep and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars74.0k30.2k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 31, 2026
Latest releasev0.27.4v0.34.1
Minimum hardwareNot publishedNot published
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 2 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNo. AI tagging calls OpenAI or an Ollama server you configure.
Est. server costfrom €35.99/moNot estimated
Deploy methodDocker Compose (official images)Docker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedYes, by default
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free with limits (OIDC free)Free (OIDC free)
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull AFFiNE guide →Full Karakeep guide →

Key differences

  • License: AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). Karakeep: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)).
  • Official hardware: AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Karakeep: not published.
  • GPU: AFFiNE: not required or not stated. Karakeep: optional / see notes.
  • Est. server cost: AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. Karakeep: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: AFFiNE: Docker Compose (official images) · multi-container stack. Karakeep: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AFFiNE: 74.0k. Karakeep: 30.2k.
  • Last commit: AFFiNE: Oct 27, 2026. Karakeep: Oct 31, 2026.
  • Latest release: AFFiNE: v0.27.4 (Aug 18, 2026). Karakeep: v0.34.1 (Oct 22, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.

AFFiNE vs Karakeep: FAQ

AFFiNE or Karakeep: which should a small business choose?

Choose AFFiNE if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Network copyleft (AGPL)) and larger community (74.0k vs 30.2k GitHub stars). Karakeep publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, AFFiNE or Karakeep?

AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. Karakeep: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do AFFiNE and Karakeep need?

AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). Karakeep: not published.

What is the license difference between AFFiNE and Karakeep?

AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. Karakeep: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Karakeep and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AFFiNE or Karakeep more actively maintained?

AFFiNE: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. Karakeep: Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 1, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AFFiNE or Karakeep?

AFFiNE installs via Docker Compose (official images) (multi-container stack); Karakeep via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AFFiNE lists 4 known gotchas and Karakeep lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.