Langchain-Chatchat vs MaxKB

Short answer

Langchain-Chatchat: Chinese-first local knowledge-base Q&A and agent app built on LangChain, wired to local model servers. MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose Langchain-Chatchat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)) and larger community (38.7k vs 23.1k GitHub stars).

Choose MaxKB if you want: an actively maintained project (Langchain-Chatchat is stale) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Langchain-Chatchat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Langchain-Chatchat vs MaxKB side by side

Langchain-ChatchatMaxKB
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isChinese-first local knowledge-base Q&A and agent app built on LangChain, wired to local model servers.Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows.
LicenseApache-2.0GPL-3.0
License typePermissiveCopyleft (GPL)
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses.Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0.
StatusStale (no commit in 180+ days)Active
GitHub stars38.7k23.1k
Last commitNov 10, 2025Oct 30, 2026
Latest releasev0.3.1v2.10.8-lts
Minimum hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk
Recommended hardwareNot publishedNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required by the app itself. Since 0.3.0 hardware depends on the model server you connect; the docs say it can run on CPU, GPU, NPU or MPS. The Docker Compose guide pairs it with Xinference and assumes the NVIDIA Container Toolkit.Not required / not stated
Est. server costNot estimatedfrom €35.99/mo
Deploy methodpip (or Docker Compose with Xinference)Docker
Known gotchas5 listed2 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedPaid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid)
Audit logNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
RBACNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
DetailsFull Langchain-Chatchat guide →Full MaxKB guide →

Key differences

  • License: Langchain-Chatchat: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)).
  • Official hardware: Langchain-Chatchat: not published. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
  • GPU: Langchain-Chatchat: optional / see notes. MaxKB: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: Langchain-Chatchat: not estimated (no official RAM figure). MaxKB: from €35.99/mo.
  • Deploy: Langchain-Chatchat: pip (or Docker Compose with Xinference) · multi-container stack. MaxKB: Docker · single container.
  • Status: Langchain-Chatchat: Stale (no commit in 180+ days). MaxKB: Active.
  • GitHub stars: Langchain-Chatchat: 38.7k. MaxKB: 23.1k.
  • Last commit: Langchain-Chatchat: Nov 10, 2025. MaxKB: Oct 30, 2026.
  • Latest release: Langchain-Chatchat: v0.3.1 (Jul 12, 2024). MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG.

Langchain-Chatchat vs MaxKB: FAQ

Langchain-Chatchat or MaxKB: which should a small business choose?

Choose Langchain-Chatchat if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)) and larger community (38.7k vs 23.1k GitHub stars). Choose MaxKB if you want: an actively maintained project (Langchain-Chatchat is stale) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Langchain-Chatchat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, Langchain-Chatchat or MaxKB?

Langchain-Chatchat: not estimated (no official RAM figure). MaxKB: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do Langchain-Chatchat and MaxKB need?

Langchain-Chatchat: not published. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.

What is the license difference between Langchain-Chatchat and MaxKB?

Langchain-Chatchat: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Langchain-Chatchat or MaxKB more actively maintained?

Langchain-Chatchat: Stale (no commit in 180+ days), last commit Nov 10, 2025. MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Langchain-Chatchat or MaxKB?

Langchain-Chatchat installs via pip (or Docker Compose with Xinference) (multi-container stack); MaxKB via Docker (single container). Langchain-Chatchat lists 5 known gotchas and MaxKB lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.