MaxKB vs PipesHub

Short answer

MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. PipesHub: Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose MaxKB if you want: larger community (23.1k vs 3.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Choose PipesHub if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

MaxKB vs PipesHub side by side

MaxKBPipesHub
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isEnterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows.Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions.
LicenseGPL-3.0Apache-2.0
License typeCopyleft (GPL)Permissive
License conditionsFree to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars23.1k3.9k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 27, 2026
Latest releasev2.10.8-ltsv0.10.0
Minimum hardware4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk8 GB RAM
Recommended hardwareNot published16 GB RAM
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €35.99/mofrom €35.99/mo (recommended spec: €69.99/mo)
Deploy methodDockerDocker Compose (interactive installer)
Known gotchas2 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid)Free
Audit logPaid / enterprise onlyNot documented
RBACPaid / enterprise onlyNot documented
DetailsFull MaxKB guide →Full PipesHub guide →

Key differences

  • License: MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk. PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
  • Deploy: MaxKB: Docker · single container. PipesHub: Docker Compose (interactive installer) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: MaxKB: 23.1k. PipesHub: 3.9k.
  • Latest release: MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026). PipesHub: v0.10.0 (Oct 12, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €35.99/mo; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 27, 2026.

MaxKB vs PipesHub: FAQ

MaxKB or PipesHub: which should a small business choose?

Choose MaxKB if you want: larger community (23.1k vs 3.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose PipesHub if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)).

Which is cheaper to self-host, MaxKB or PipesHub?

MaxKB: from €35.99/mo. PipesHub: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do MaxKB and PipesHub need?

MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk. PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).

What is the license difference between MaxKB and PipesHub?

MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is MaxKB or PipesHub more actively maintained?

MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. PipesHub: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, MaxKB or PipesHub?

MaxKB installs via Docker (single container); PipesHub via Docker Compose (interactive installer) (multi-container stack). MaxKB lists 2 known gotchas and PipesHub lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.