DocsGPT vs PipesHub

Short answer

DocsGPT: Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. PipesHub: Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose DocsGPT if you want: larger community (18.3k vs 3.9k GitHub stars).

DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

DocsGPT vs PipesHub side by side

DocsGPTPipesHub
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isOpen-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources.Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions.
LicenseMITApache-2.0
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars18.3k3.9k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 27, 2026
Latest release1.1.0v0.10.0
Minimum hardwareNot published8 GB RAM
Recommended hardwareNot published16 GB RAM
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costNot estimatedfrom €35.99/mo (recommended spec: €69.99/mo)
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose (interactive installer)
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryOn by defaultOn by default
Calls home by defaultYes, by defaultNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free (OIDC free)Free
Audit logYes, freeNot documented
RBACYes, freeNot documented
DetailsFull DocsGPT guide →Full PipesHub guide →

Key differences

  • License: DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: DocsGPT: not published. PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
  • Est. server cost: DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). PipesHub: from €35.99/mo.
  • Deploy: DocsGPT: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. PipesHub: Docker Compose (interactive installer) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: DocsGPT: 18.3k. PipesHub: 3.9k.
  • Latest release: DocsGPT: 1.1.0 (Oct 25, 2026). PipesHub: v0.10.0 (Oct 12, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 27, 2026.

DocsGPT vs PipesHub: FAQ

DocsGPT or PipesHub: which should a small business choose?

Choose DocsGPT if you want: larger community (18.3k vs 3.9k GitHub stars). DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, DocsGPT or PipesHub?

DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). PipesHub: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do DocsGPT and PipesHub need?

DocsGPT: not published. PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).

What is the license difference between DocsGPT and PipesHub?

DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is DocsGPT or PipesHub more actively maintained?

DocsGPT: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. PipesHub: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, DocsGPT or PipesHub?

DocsGPT installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); PipesHub via Docker Compose (interactive installer) (multi-container stack). DocsGPT lists 4 known gotchas and PipesHub lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.