FastGPT vs PipesHub
Short answer
FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. PipesHub: Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and larger community (29.9k vs 3.9k GitHub stars).
Choose PipesHub if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
FastGPT vs PipesHub side by side
| FastGPT | PipesHub | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. | Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. |
| License | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Custom / conditional | Permissive |
| License conditions | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 29.9k | 3.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 27, 2026 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Latest release | v4.17.2 | v0.10.0 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | 8 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM | 16 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) | from €35.99/mo (recommended spec: €69.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (install script) | Docker Compose (interactive installer) |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only | Free |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Details | Full FastGPT guide → | Full PipesHub guide → |
Key differences
- License: FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- Official hardware: FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
- Est. server cost: FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. PipesHub: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack. PipesHub: Docker Compose (interactive installer) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: FastGPT: 29.9k. PipesHub: 3.9k.
- Latest release: FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026). PipesHub: v0.10.0 (Oct 12, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 27, 2026.
FastGPT vs PipesHub: FAQ
FastGPT or PipesHub: which should a small business choose?
Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and larger community (29.9k vs 3.9k GitHub stars). Choose PipesHub if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Which is cheaper to self-host, FastGPT or PipesHub?
FastGPT: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).
How much hardware do FastGPT and PipesHub need?
FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between FastGPT and PipesHub?
FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is FastGPT or PipesHub more actively maintained?
FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. PipesHub: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, FastGPT or PipesHub?
FastGPT installs via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack); PipesHub via Docker Compose (interactive installer) (multi-container stack). FastGPT lists 2 known gotchas and PipesHub lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- FastGPT self-hosting guide · PipesHub self-hosting guide
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- All PipesHub alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
- AnythingLLM vs PipesHub
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Dify vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs PipesHub
- FastGPT vs kotaemon
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- FastGPT vs Open Notebook
- FastGPT vs PrivateGPT
- FastGPT vs RAGFlow
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- PipesHub GitHub repository: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai
- PipesHub documentation: docs.pipeshub.com
- PipesHub license: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/LICENSE
- PipesHub hardware requirements: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md#deployment-types-slim-vs-full-vs-eval
- PipesHub deploy instructions: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.