n8n vs Skyvern
Short answer
n8n: Workflow automation with 1,500+ integrations and built-in AI agent nodes. Skyvern: Browser automation agent that uses LLMs and computer vision to fill forms and run workflows on websites. Both are in our Workflow automation with AI category.
Choose n8n if you want: larger community (208k vs 23.3k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose Skyvern if you want: fewer license conditions (Network copyleft (AGPL) vs Source-available).
n8n publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
n8n vs Skyvern side by side
| n8n | Skyvern | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Workflow automation with AI | Workflow automation with AI |
| What it is | Workflow automation with 1,500+ integrations and built-in AI agent nodes. | Browser automation agent that uses LLMs and computer vision to fill forms and run workflows on websites. |
| License | Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files | AGPL-3.0 (anti-bot features only in the managed cloud) |
| License type | Source-available | Network copyleft (AGPL) |
| License conditions | You may use or modify n8n for your own internal business purposes or for non-commercial use. You may not sell it or offer it to others as a paid service. Files with ".ee" in the name need an n8n Enterprise License. | Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Skyvern and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. Anti-bot measures are not in the open-source repository. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 208k | 23.3k |
| Last commit | Oct 23, 2026 | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Latest release | [email protected] | v1.0.56 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | 412 MiB idle, 607 MiB working (our test, v2.44.6, Oct 22, 2026) | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €11.99/mo (based on our test, not official) | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid) | Not documented |
| Audit log | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Details | Full n8n guide → | Full Skyvern guide → |
Key differences
- License: n8n: Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files (Source-available). Skyvern: AGPL-3.0 (anti-bot features only in the managed cloud) (Network copyleft (AGPL)).
- Official hardware: n8n: not published. Skyvern: recommended 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
- Est. server cost: n8n: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Skyvern: from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: n8n: Docker · single container. Skyvern: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: n8n: 208k. Skyvern: 23.3k.
- Last commit: n8n: Oct 23, 2026. Skyvern: Oct 24, 2026.
- Latest release: n8n: [email protected] (Oct 22, 2026). Skyvern: v1.0.56 (Oct 14, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Workflow automation with AI; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
n8n vs Skyvern: FAQ
n8n or Skyvern: which should a small business choose?
Choose n8n if you want: larger community (208k vs 23.3k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Skyvern if you want: fewer license conditions (Network copyleft (AGPL) vs Source-available). n8n publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, n8n or Skyvern?
n8n: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Skyvern: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do n8n and Skyvern need?
n8n: not published. Skyvern: recommended 4 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
What is the license difference between n8n and Skyvern?
n8n: Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files (Source-available). You may use or modify n8n for your own internal business purposes or for non-commercial use. You may not sell it or offer it to others as a paid service. Files with ".ee" in the name need an n8n Enterprise License. Skyvern: AGPL-3.0 (anti-bot features only in the managed cloud) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Skyvern and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. Anti-bot measures are not in the open-source repository. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is n8n or Skyvern more actively maintained?
n8n: Active, last commit Oct 23, 2026. Skyvern: Active, last commit Oct 24, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 24, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, n8n or Skyvern?
n8n installs via Docker (single container); Skyvern via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). n8n lists 2 known gotchas and Skyvern lists 4; see each app page.
Related
Sources
- n8n GitHub repository: github.com/n8n-io/n8n
- n8n documentation, n8n deploy instructions: docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/install-with-docker
- n8n license: github.com/n8n-io/n8n/blob/master/LICENSE.md
- n8n hardware requirements: docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/scaling/fix-memory-issues
- Skyvern GitHub repository: github.com/Skyvern-AI/skyvern
- Skyvern documentation: www.skyvern.com/docs/
- Skyvern license: github.com/Skyvern-AI/skyvern/blob/main/LICENSE
- Skyvern hardware requirements: www.skyvern.com/docs/reference/configuration
- Skyvern deploy instructions: www.skyvern.com/docs/developers/self-hosted/overview
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.