PipesHub vs RAGFlow
Short answer
PipesHub: Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. RAGFlow: RAG engine with deep document parsing (OCR, layout and tables) and cited answers. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose PipesHub if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).
Choose RAGFlow if you want: larger community (92.9k vs 3.9k GitHub stars).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
PipesHub vs RAGFlow side by side
| PipesHub | RAGFlow | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. | RAG engine with deep document parsing (OCR, layout and tables) and cited answers. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 3.9k | 92.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 27, 2026 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.10.0 | v1.0.0-rc2 |
| Minimum hardware | 8 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | 16 GB RAM | 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €35.99/mo (recommended spec: €69.99/mo) | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (interactive installer) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free | Free (OIDC free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full PipesHub guide → | Full RAGFlow guide → |
Key differences
- Official hardware: PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM). RAGFlow: recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk (no separate minimum published).
- Est. server cost: PipesHub: from €35.99/mo. RAGFlow: from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: PipesHub: Docker Compose (interactive installer) · multi-container stack. RAGFlow: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: PipesHub: 3.9k. RAGFlow: 92.9k.
- Latest release: PipesHub: v0.10.0 (Oct 12, 2026). RAGFlow: v1.0.0-rc2 (Oct 16, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; License: Apache-2.0 (Permissive); GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 27, 2026.
PipesHub vs RAGFlow: FAQ
PipesHub or RAGFlow: which should a small business choose?
Choose PipesHub if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo). Choose RAGFlow if you want: larger community (92.9k vs 3.9k GitHub stars).
Which is cheaper to self-host, PipesHub or RAGFlow?
PipesHub: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).
How much hardware do PipesHub and RAGFlow need?
PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM). RAGFlow: recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk (no separate minimum published).
What is the license difference between PipesHub and RAGFlow?
PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. RAGFlow: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is PipesHub or RAGFlow more actively maintained?
PipesHub: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. RAGFlow: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, PipesHub or RAGFlow?
PipesHub installs via Docker Compose (interactive installer) (multi-container stack); RAGFlow via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). PipesHub lists 4 known gotchas and RAGFlow lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- PipesHub self-hosting guide · RAGFlow self-hosting guide
- All PipesHub alternatives, ranked
- All RAGFlow alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs PipesHub
- AnythingLLM vs RAGFlow
- Coze Studio vs RAGFlow
- Dify vs RAGFlow
- DocsGPT vs PipesHub
- DocsGPT vs RAGFlow
- FastGPT vs PipesHub
- FastGPT vs RAGFlow
- kotaemon vs PipesHub
- kotaemon vs RAGFlow
- MaxKB vs PipesHub
- MaxKB vs RAGFlow
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- PipesHub GitHub repository: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai
- PipesHub documentation: docs.pipeshub.com
- PipesHub license: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/LICENSE
- PipesHub hardware requirements: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md#deployment-types-slim-vs-full-vs-eval
- PipesHub deploy instructions: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md
- RAGFlow GitHub repository: github.com/infiniflow/ragflow
- RAGFlow documentation, RAGFlow hardware requirements, RAGFlow deploy instructions: github.com/infiniflow/ragflow#-get-started
- RAGFlow license: github.com/infiniflow/ragflow/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.