RAGFlow vs WeKnora

Short answer

RAGFlow: RAG engine with deep document parsing (OCR, layout and tables) and cited answers. WeKnora: Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose RAGFlow if you want: larger community (93.2k vs 36.1k GitHub stars).

Choose WeKnora if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official recommended (8 GB vs 16 GB RAM).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

RAGFlow vs WeKnora side by side

RAGFlowWeKnora
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isRAG engine with deep document parsing (OCR, layout and tables) and cited answers.Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces.
LicenseApache-2.0MIT (with third-party components)
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars93.2k36.1k
Last commitOct 31, 2026Oct 30, 2026
Latest releasev1.0.0-rc3v0.9.0
Minimum hardwareNot publishedNot published
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required. Local models run through Ollama or another model service you configure.
Est. server costfrom €69.99/mofrom €35.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose
Known gotchas2 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free (OIDC free)Free (OIDC free)
Audit logNot documentedYes, free
RBACBasic free, more in paid planYes, free
DetailsFull RAGFlow guide →Full WeKnora guide →

Key differences

  • License: RAGFlow: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: RAGFlow: recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk (no separate minimum published). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
  • GPU: RAGFlow: not required or not stated. WeKnora: optional / see notes.
  • Est. server cost: RAGFlow: from €69.99/mo. WeKnora: from €35.99/mo.
  • GitHub stars: RAGFlow: 93.2k. WeKnora: 36.1k.
  • Last commit: RAGFlow: Oct 31, 2026. WeKnora: Oct 30, 2026.
  • Latest release: RAGFlow: v1.0.0-rc3 (Oct 30, 2026). WeKnora: v0.9.0 (Oct 29, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Deploy: Docker Compose · multi-container stack; Status: Active.

RAGFlow vs WeKnora: FAQ

RAGFlow or WeKnora: which should a small business choose?

Choose RAGFlow if you want: larger community (93.2k vs 36.1k GitHub stars). Choose WeKnora if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official recommended (8 GB vs 16 GB RAM).

Which is cheaper to self-host, RAGFlow or WeKnora?

WeKnora: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).

How much hardware do RAGFlow and WeKnora need?

RAGFlow: recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk (no separate minimum published). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).

What is the license difference between RAGFlow and WeKnora?

RAGFlow: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive). MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is RAGFlow or WeKnora more actively maintained?

RAGFlow: Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. WeKnora: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, RAGFlow or WeKnora?

RAGFlow installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); WeKnora via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). RAGFlow lists 2 known gotchas and WeKnora lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.