DocsGPT vs WeKnora
Short answer
DocsGPT: Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. WeKnora: Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose WeKnora if you want: larger community (36.1k vs 18.4k GitHub stars).
DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
DocsGPT vs WeKnora side by side
| DocsGPT | WeKnora | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Open-source platform for AI agents and assistants that answer from your documents with sources. | Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. |
| License | MIT | MIT (with third-party components) |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 18.4k | 36.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 30, 2026 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | 1.1.0 | v0.9.0 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required. Local models run through Ollama or another model service you configure. |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Free (OIDC free) |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Yes, free |
| Details | Full DocsGPT guide → | Full WeKnora guide → |
Key differences
- License: DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive).
- Official hardware: DocsGPT: not published. WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
- GPU: DocsGPT: not required or not stated. WeKnora: optional / see notes.
- Est. server cost: DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). WeKnora: from €35.99/mo.
- GitHub stars: DocsGPT: 18.4k. WeKnora: 36.1k.
- Latest release: DocsGPT: 1.1.0 (Oct 25, 2026). WeKnora: v0.9.0 (Oct 29, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Deploy: Docker Compose · multi-container stack; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 30, 2026.
DocsGPT vs WeKnora: FAQ
DocsGPT or WeKnora: which should a small business choose?
Choose WeKnora if you want: larger community (36.1k vs 18.4k GitHub stars). DocsGPT publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, DocsGPT or WeKnora?
DocsGPT: not estimated (no official RAM figure). WeKnora: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do DocsGPT and WeKnora need?
DocsGPT: not published. WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
What is the license difference between DocsGPT and WeKnora?
DocsGPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive). MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is DocsGPT or WeKnora more actively maintained?
DocsGPT: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. WeKnora: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, DocsGPT or WeKnora?
DocsGPT installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); WeKnora via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). DocsGPT lists 4 known gotchas and WeKnora lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- DocsGPT self-hosting guide · WeKnora self-hosting guide
- All DocsGPT alternatives, ranked
- All WeKnora alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs DocsGPT
- AFFiNE vs WeKnora
- AnythingLLM vs DocsGPT
- AnythingLLM vs WeKnora
- DocsGPT vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs kotaemon
- DocsGPT vs Langchain-Chatchat
- DocsGPT vs LightRAG
- DocsGPT vs MaxKB
- DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- DocsGPT vs Open Notebook
- DocsGPT vs PipesHub
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- DocsGPT GitHub repository: github.com/arc53/DocsGPT
- DocsGPT documentation: docs.docsgpt.cloud/
- DocsGPT license: github.com/arc53/DocsGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- DocsGPT hardware requirements, DocsGPT deploy instructions: docs.docsgpt.cloud/Deploying/Docker-Deploying
- WeKnora GitHub repository: github.com/Tencent/WeKnora
- WeKnora documentation, WeKnora hardware requirements, WeKnora deploy instructions: weknora.weixin.qq.com/docs/01-getting-started/02-installation
- WeKnora license: github.com/Tencent/WeKnora/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.