FastGPT vs WeKnora
Short answer
FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. WeKnora: Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).
Choose WeKnora if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
FastGPT vs WeKnora side by side
| FastGPT | WeKnora | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. | Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. |
| License | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) | MIT (with third-party components) |
| License type | Custom / conditional | Permissive |
| License conditions | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. | MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 30.0k | 36.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 30, 2026 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | v4.17.2 | v0.9.0 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM | 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required. Local models run through Ollama or another model service you configure. |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (install script) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only | Free (OIDC free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Yes, free |
| Details | Full FastGPT guide → | Full WeKnora guide → |
Key differences
- License: FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive).
- Official hardware: FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
- GPU: FastGPT: not required or not stated. WeKnora: optional / see notes.
- Est. server cost: FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. WeKnora: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack. WeKnora: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: FastGPT: 30.0k. WeKnora: 36.1k.
- Latest release: FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026). WeKnora: v0.9.0 (Oct 29, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 30, 2026.
FastGPT vs WeKnora: FAQ
FastGPT or WeKnora: which should a small business choose?
Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo). Choose WeKnora if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Which is cheaper to self-host, FastGPT or WeKnora?
FastGPT: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).
How much hardware do FastGPT and WeKnora need?
FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
What is the license difference between FastGPT and WeKnora?
FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive). MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is FastGPT or WeKnora more actively maintained?
FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. WeKnora: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, FastGPT or WeKnora?
FastGPT installs via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack); WeKnora via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). FastGPT lists 2 known gotchas and WeKnora lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- FastGPT self-hosting guide · WeKnora self-hosting guide
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- All WeKnora alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs FastGPT
- AFFiNE vs WeKnora
- AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
- AnythingLLM vs WeKnora
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Dify vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs FastGPT
- DocsGPT vs WeKnora
- FastGPT vs kotaemon
- FastGPT vs Langchain-Chatchat
- FastGPT vs LightRAG
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- WeKnora GitHub repository: github.com/Tencent/WeKnora
- WeKnora documentation, WeKnora hardware requirements, WeKnora deploy instructions: weknora.weixin.qq.com/docs/01-getting-started/02-installation
- WeKnora license: github.com/Tencent/WeKnora/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.