AFFiNE vs WeKnora

Short answer

AFFiNE: Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. WeKnora: Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose AFFiNE if you want: lighter official recommended (2 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and larger community (74.0k vs 36.1k GitHub stars).

Choose WeKnora if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AFFiNE vs WeKnora side by side

AFFiNEWeKnora
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isNotion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker.Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces.
LicenseMIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server codeMIT (with third-party components)
License typeOpen corePermissive
License conditionsThe README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License.MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars74.0k36.1k
Last commitOct 27, 2026Oct 30, 2026
Latest releasev0.27.4v0.9.0
Minimum hardwareNot publishedNot published
Recommended hardware4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required. Local models run through Ollama or another model service you configure.
Est. server costfrom €35.99/mofrom €35.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker Compose (official images)Docker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free with limits (OIDC free)Free (OIDC free)
Audit logNot documentedYes, free
RBACNot documentedYes, free
DetailsFull AFFiNE guide →Full WeKnora guide →

Key differences

  • License: AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
  • GPU: AFFiNE: not required or not stated. WeKnora: optional / see notes.
  • Deploy: AFFiNE: Docker Compose (official images) · multi-container stack. WeKnora: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AFFiNE: 74.0k. WeKnora: 36.1k.
  • Last commit: AFFiNE: Oct 27, 2026. WeKnora: Oct 30, 2026.
  • Latest release: AFFiNE: v0.27.4 (Aug 18, 2026). WeKnora: v0.9.0 (Oct 29, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Est. server cost: from €35.99/mo; Status: Active.

AFFiNE vs WeKnora: FAQ

AFFiNE or WeKnora: which should a small business choose?

Choose AFFiNE if you want: lighter official recommended (2 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and larger community (74.0k vs 36.1k GitHub stars). Choose WeKnora if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).

Which is cheaper to self-host, AFFiNE or WeKnora?

AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. WeKnora: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do AFFiNE and WeKnora need?

AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).

What is the license difference between AFFiNE and WeKnora?

AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive). MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AFFiNE or WeKnora more actively maintained?

AFFiNE: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. WeKnora: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AFFiNE or WeKnora?

AFFiNE installs via Docker Compose (official images) (multi-container stack); WeKnora via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AFFiNE lists 4 known gotchas and WeKnora lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.