AFFiNE vs PipesHub
Short answer
AFFiNE: Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. PipesHub: Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose AFFiNE if you want: larger community (74.0k vs 3.9k GitHub stars).
Choose PipesHub if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
AFFiNE vs PipesHub side by side
| AFFiNE | PipesHub | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Notion- and Miro-style workspace (docs, whiteboards, databases) with built-in AI, self-hostable with Docker. | Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. |
| License | MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Open core | Permissive |
| License conditions | The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 74.0k | 3.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 27, 2026 | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.27.4 | v1.0.0 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 8 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM | 16 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €35.99/mo | from €35.99/mo (recommended spec: €69.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (official images) | Docker Compose (interactive installer) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free with limits (OIDC free) | Free |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full AFFiNE guide → | Full PipesHub guide → |
Key differences
- License: AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- Official hardware: AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
- Deploy: AFFiNE: Docker Compose (official images) · multi-container stack. PipesHub: Docker Compose (interactive installer) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: AFFiNE: 74.0k. PipesHub: 3.9k.
- Last commit: AFFiNE: Oct 27, 2026. PipesHub: Oct 29, 2026.
- Latest release: AFFiNE: v0.27.4 (Aug 18, 2026). PipesHub: v1.0.0 (Oct 27, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €35.99/mo; Status: Active.
AFFiNE vs PipesHub: FAQ
AFFiNE or PipesHub: which should a small business choose?
Choose AFFiNE if you want: larger community (74.0k vs 3.9k GitHub stars). Choose PipesHub if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
Which is cheaper to self-host, AFFiNE or PipesHub?
AFFiNE: from €35.99/mo. PipesHub: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do AFFiNE and PipesHub need?
AFFiNE: recommended 4 vCPU · 2 GB RAM (no separate minimum published). PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between AFFiNE and PipesHub?
AFFiNE: MIT (Community Edition) with Enterprise Edition license for server code (Open core). The README says the Community Edition is free to self-host under the MIT license. The server code under packages/backend carries an AFFiNE Enterprise Edition license that applies to parts not distributed as Community Edition. Self-hosted workspaces get up to 10 seats; more seats need a paid Team Plan or Installable License. PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is AFFiNE or PipesHub more actively maintained?
AFFiNE: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. PipesHub: Active, last commit Oct 29, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 29, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, AFFiNE or PipesHub?
AFFiNE installs via Docker Compose (official images) (multi-container stack); PipesHub via Docker Compose (interactive installer) (multi-container stack). AFFiNE lists 4 known gotchas and PipesHub lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- AFFiNE self-hosting guide · PipesHub self-hosting guide
- All AFFiNE alternatives, ranked
- All PipesHub alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs AnythingLLM
- AFFiNE vs DocsGPT
- AFFiNE vs FastGPT
- AFFiNE vs kotaemon
- AFFiNE vs MaxKB
- AFFiNE vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- AFFiNE vs Open Notebook
- AFFiNE vs PrivateGPT
- AFFiNE vs RAGFlow
- AnythingLLM vs PipesHub
- DocsGPT vs PipesHub
- FastGPT vs PipesHub
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- AFFiNE GitHub repository: github.com/toeverything/AFFiNE
- AFFiNE documentation: docs.affine.pro/self-host-affine
- AFFiNE license: github.com/toeverything/AFFiNE/blob/canary/LICENSE
- AFFiNE hardware requirements: docs.affine.pro/self-host-affine/install/requirements
- AFFiNE deploy instructions: docs.affine.pro/self-host-affine/install/docker-compose-recommended
- PipesHub GitHub repository: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai
- PipesHub documentation: docs.pipeshub.com
- PipesHub license: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/LICENSE
- PipesHub hardware requirements: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md#deployment-types-slim-vs-full-vs-eval
- PipesHub deploy instructions: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.