AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent
Short answer
AutoGPT Platform: Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. CowAgent: Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 47.7k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose CowAgent if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available).
CowAgent publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent side by side
| AutoGPT Platform | CowAgent | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. | Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. |
| License | Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest | MIT |
| License type | Source-available | Permissive |
| License conditions | The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 188k | 47.7k |
| Last commit | Oct 28, 2026 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 | 2.2.2 |
| Minimum hardware | 6 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | No. It calls the model providers you configure. |
| Est. server cost | from €35.99/mo | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker (single container) | Docker Compose (official compose file) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full AutoGPT Platform guide → | Full CowAgent guide → |
Key differences
- License: AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). CowAgent: MIT (Permissive).
- Official hardware: AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. CowAgent: not published.
- GPU: AutoGPT Platform: not required or not stated. CowAgent: optional / see notes.
- Est. server cost: AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. CowAgent: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: AutoGPT Platform: Docker (single container) · single container. CowAgent: Docker Compose (official compose file) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: AutoGPT Platform: 188k. CowAgent: 47.7k.
- Last commit: AutoGPT Platform: Oct 28, 2026. CowAgent: Oct 30, 2026.
- Latest release: AutoGPT Platform: autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 (Oct 27, 2026). CowAgent: 2.2.2 (Oct 30, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active.
AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent: FAQ
AutoGPT Platform or CowAgent: which should a small business choose?
Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 47.7k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose CowAgent if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available). CowAgent publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, AutoGPT Platform or CowAgent?
AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. CowAgent: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do AutoGPT Platform and CowAgent need?
AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. CowAgent: not published.
What is the license difference between AutoGPT Platform and CowAgent?
AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. CowAgent: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is AutoGPT Platform or CowAgent more actively maintained?
AutoGPT Platform: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. CowAgent: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 30, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, AutoGPT Platform or CowAgent?
AutoGPT Platform installs via Docker (single container) (single container); CowAgent via Docker Compose (official compose file) (multi-container stack). AutoGPT Platform lists 4 known gotchas and CowAgent lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- AutoGPT Platform self-hosting guide · CowAgent self-hosting guide
- All AutoGPT Platform alternatives, ranked
- All CowAgent alternatives, ranked
- AstrBot vs AutoGPT Platform
- AstrBot vs CowAgent
- AutoGPT Platform vs Coze Studio
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs Flowise
- AutoGPT Platform vs Langflow
- AutoGPT Platform vs Mem0
- AutoGPT Platform vs Sim
- CowAgent vs Coze Studio
- CowAgent vs Dify
- CowAgent vs Flowise
- CowAgent vs Langflow
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- AutoGPT Platform GitHub repository: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT
- AutoGPT Platform documentation, AutoGPT Platform hardware requirements: agpt.co/docs/platform/self-hosting/single-container
- AutoGPT Platform license: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT/blob/master/LICENSE
- AutoGPT Platform deploy instructions: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT#self-host-autogpt
- CowAgent GitHub repository: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent
- CowAgent documentation, CowAgent hardware requirements: docs.cowagent.ai/guide/quick-start
- CowAgent license: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent/blob/master/LICENSE
- CowAgent deploy instructions: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.