AstrBot vs AutoGPT Platform
Short answer
AstrBot: Multi-platform AI chatbot and agent framework for QQ, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Official Accounts, Telegram and Slack. AutoGPT Platform: Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose AstrBot if you want: fewer license conditions (Network copyleft (AGPL) vs Source-available).
Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 44.9k GitHub stars).
AstrBot publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
AstrBot vs AutoGPT Platform side by side
| AstrBot | AutoGPT Platform | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Multi-platform AI chatbot and agent framework for QQ, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Official Accounts, Telegram and Slack. | Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 | Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Source-available |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify AstrBot and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. | The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 44.9k | 188k |
| Last commit | Oct 28, 2026 | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Latest release | v4.29.3 | autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 6 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. It calls the model providers you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker | Docker (single container) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full AstrBot guide → | Full AutoGPT Platform guide → |
Key differences
- License: AstrBot: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available).
- Official hardware: AstrBot: not published. AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM.
- GPU: AstrBot: optional / see notes. AutoGPT Platform: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: AstrBot: not estimated (no official RAM figure). AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: AstrBot: Docker · single container. AutoGPT Platform: Docker (single container) · single container.
- GitHub stars: AstrBot: 44.9k. AutoGPT Platform: 188k.
- Latest release: AstrBot: v4.29.3 (Oct 24, 2026). AutoGPT Platform: autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 (Oct 27, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 28, 2026.
AstrBot vs AutoGPT Platform: FAQ
AstrBot or AutoGPT Platform: which should a small business choose?
Choose AstrBot if you want: fewer license conditions (Network copyleft (AGPL) vs Source-available). Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 44.9k GitHub stars). AstrBot publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, AstrBot or AutoGPT Platform?
AstrBot: not estimated (no official RAM figure). AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do AstrBot and AutoGPT Platform need?
AstrBot: not published. AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM.
What is the license difference between AstrBot and AutoGPT Platform?
AstrBot: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify AstrBot and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is AstrBot or AutoGPT Platform more actively maintained?
AstrBot: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. AutoGPT Platform: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 30, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, AstrBot or AutoGPT Platform?
AstrBot installs via Docker (single container); AutoGPT Platform via Docker (single container) (single container). AstrBot lists 4 known gotchas and AutoGPT Platform lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- AstrBot self-hosting guide · AutoGPT Platform self-hosting guide
- All AstrBot alternatives, ranked
- All AutoGPT Platform alternatives, ranked
- AstrBot vs CowAgent
- AstrBot vs Coze Studio
- AstrBot vs Dify
- AstrBot vs Flowise
- AstrBot vs Langflow
- AstrBot vs Mem0
- AstrBot vs Sim
- AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent
- AutoGPT Platform vs Coze Studio
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs Flowise
- AutoGPT Platform vs Langflow
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- AstrBot GitHub repository: github.com/AstrBotDevs/AstrBot
- AstrBot documentation, AstrBot hardware requirements, AstrBot deploy instructions: docs.astrbot.app/en/deploy/astrbot/docker.html
- AstrBot license: github.com/AstrBotDevs/AstrBot/blob/master/LICENSE
- AutoGPT Platform GitHub repository: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT
- AutoGPT Platform documentation, AutoGPT Platform hardware requirements: agpt.co/docs/platform/self-hosting/single-container
- AutoGPT Platform license: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT/blob/master/LICENSE
- AutoGPT Platform deploy instructions: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT#self-host-autogpt
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.