LibreChat vs NextChat

Short answer

LibreChat: Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. NextChat: Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.

Choose NextChat if you want: larger community (88.9k vs 46.1k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

LibreChat vs NextChat side by side

LibreChatNextChat
CategoryPrivate ChatGPT-style chatPrivate ChatGPT-style chat
What it isMulti-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management.Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command.
LicenseMITMIT
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars46.1k88.9k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 20, 2026
Latest release—v2.16.1
Minimum hardware1 vCPU · 1 GB RAMNot published
Recommended hardware2 GB RAMNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yet42 MiB idle, 57 MiB working (our test, v2.16.1, Oct 22, 2026)
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €6.49/mo (recommended spec: €11.99/mo)from €6.49/mo (based on our test, not official)
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker
Known gotchas2 listed3 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free (OIDC free · SAML free · LDAP free)Not documented
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull LibreChat guide →Full NextChat guide →

Key differences

  • Official hardware: LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM). NextChat: not published.
  • Est. server cost: LibreChat: from €6.49/mo. NextChat: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: LibreChat: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. NextChat: Docker · single container.
  • GitHub stars: LibreChat: 46.1k. NextChat: 88.9k.
  • Last commit: LibreChat: Oct 22, 2026. NextChat: Oct 20, 2026.
  • Latest release: LibreChat: none published. NextChat: v2.16.1 (Jul 29, 2025).

Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; License: MIT (Permissive); GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

LibreChat vs NextChat: FAQ

LibreChat or NextChat: which should a small business choose?

Choose NextChat if you want: larger community (88.9k vs 46.1k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). NextChat publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, LibreChat or NextChat?

LibreChat: from €6.49/mo. NextChat: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do LibreChat and NextChat need?

LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM). NextChat: not published.

What is the license difference between LibreChat and NextChat?

LibreChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. NextChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is LibreChat or NextChat more actively maintained?

LibreChat: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. NextChat: Active, last commit Oct 20, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, LibreChat or NextChat?

LibreChat installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); NextChat via Docker (single container). LibreChat lists 2 known gotchas and NextChat lists 3; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.